Hominy Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Quick and easy. My family really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the garlic and added another tsp of chili powder. I also topped it with a cornbread mix and the last ten minutes of baking I added a layer of shredded cheddar on top of the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bessemer, Alabama, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was really yummy and both of my little ones loved it too!! Any time boys ask for seconds and thirds, you know its a great recipe and worth making again. I want to make it with the cornbread topping the next time and see how that is. Sounds great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Maybe it is just that it had too much meat, but it tasted like a giant tamale to me soaked in corn chips. Had hoped it would have been thick enough to throw over rice, but it wasn't. Will serve again, but will replace 1 lb. of the hamburger with a can of white hominy, instead, and add a dash of tabasco for a slight kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Was a hearty recipe, but wasn't liked by the family.... I on the other hand think it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xvioletx1882

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good! I doubled the ground beef & added a bit more chili powder. Really a good dinner! A mix between a walking taco & a dryer chili. With leftovers, I threw in some leftover black beans & a little cumin & we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very good, it was my first time eating hominy and we liked it. I thought the dish was going to be spicier...next time I think I'll add more chili powder and maybe some red pepper flakes. I served over a baked potato and added tons of cheese on top. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was very yummy. I had all ingredients on hand. The only change I made was since I was lacking the plain tortilla chips I used crushed up barbeque flavored corn chips and a handful of taco seasoned shredded cheese. The kids and hubby devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Always looking for hominy recipes. Thank you. I used the cornbread topping that kazanoddle did. Very kid friendly. Also good make ahead meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Namitan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I used a vegetable chili w/ beans, because it already had a pound of beef in it. I'm allergic to Lay's, so I'm afraid to use Fritos (something about the oil), and decided to skip the corn chips and just served it with brown rice. I did not use any water. The 3 tsp of chili powder was too much, making the flavor dominant. Please cut back when making this. Maybe to 1 tsp. I wish I would've tasted it as I was adding the chili powder. Definitely would be better with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My boyfriend rather liked this. I did tinker a wee bit with the recipe (sorry!) because of what I had on hand. Instead of chili powder, I used about a tbs and a half of taco seasoning. I also didn't have corn chips on hand, so I made a cornbread batter and spread that on top, and baked it at 450 for 20min. Thank you for the yummy recipe! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States