Hominy and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I like hominy, so I expected to really like this side dish. I might take the cream cheese and green chilis idea and use it in another recipe. After baking, it became watery. I was surprised, because I drained the hominy and green chilis well. However, as it cooled it did absorb the liquid. Even so, the hominy did not seem to absorb the cream cheese mixture. I also had an issue with the onion being slightly crunchy, after baking, despite sauteing them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It was a bit bland, I love cream cheese and hominy but I would say needed less cream cheese and maybe some pepper and a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Read through the recipe and some of the reviews then proceeded to make this with what I had on hand. Things I changed: No green chilies but I did have Rotel Diced tomatoes w/green chilies, browned off some ground turkey to make this more of a main dish. Also had some of the canned nacho cheese sauce that I needed to use so I used it instead of the shredded cheese, added Chopped up fresh Kale for color and something healthy. Added cumin, coriander, chili powder, and salt when I was sauteing the onions, garlic and turkey. Served with tortilla chips. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made this as written except I added salsa and cooked it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I liked hominy as a kid, so I thought I'd enjoy this casserole. It was bland and just didn't taste good to me. Sorry, but not for us. I made exactly as the recipe specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I did not care for this at all. It was my first time using hominy. I would not make this again, nor would I use hominy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Loved this recipe!!! I didn't have a can of gree chiles so I added a can of Roteldinced tomatoes and green chiles and that was delicious!! I also added a bit of chili powder and extra cheese (one cup, vs. 1/2 cup). Delicious! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixy iglesias

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe was so GOOD! I used chive & onion cream cheese instead of plain. I wanted to eat the entire casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Love this recipe with the exception of the cream cheese! I make it on top of the stove. Melt butter or margarine, add chopped green onions, hominy and green chiles. Stir gently and simmer for about 10 minutes. Then add shredded cheddar and jack cheese. Let cheese melt. Stir gently and serve. So good! We like this with barbecued pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Highly recommended. As a couple reviewers mentioned, it's a little bland, so we doubled the chilies. We also added more cheese after baking, broiled it for a couple minutes to brown it on top, and sprinkled it with bacon bits. Very nice that way. It might also be good to mix in some pearl onions or jalapeños before baking. We would serve it to guests, which is the standard around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States