Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time this thanksgiving- I put celery stalks,onions,and garlic with the butter mixture in the cavity with the rest of the seasonings and butter in the skin. I also added 2 cloves of garlic- one in the cavity, the other with the seasonings on the turkey, with the chicken stock. The cooking was difficult, it cooked quicker than I thought- I put the thermometer in the bird itself instead of the thigh. Every 30 minutes, I would pour the juice in the pan, on top of the turkey. Everyone loved it!!! It was very juicy and tender. The turkey juice was delicious!! Will definitely use this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very juicy meat! And very simple! However I believe the oven temp should be raised a bit and the cook time extended. Found some deep meat that looked slightly undercooked! And that was after 3 hours of cooking a five pound bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi G
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I found this recipe last year for my first ever time cooking a turkey. I was really worried the bird would turn out dry. While cooking, I basted the turkey a few times to make sure it didn't dry out. I stuffed the turkey with celery, potatoes, and carrots for some extra flavor, and boy did they make it taste great. The turkey turned out perfectly moist and so incredibly tasty. This is by far the best turkey recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was my first time making a turkey- and with this recipe I knocked it our of the park!!! THANK YOU! We were suppose to have turkey leftover for the week, but my husband kept picking at this all Christmas night. Although we're giving up eating meat regularly, I WILL make this again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Loved this turkey! Mostly I loved how simple the recipe was and how quickly it cooked! The drippings turned out great and made fantastic gravy. I did add some chopped onion and an apple in the cavities for flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love making this turkey because it is so incredibly easy! I have made it for big groups on more than one occasion and it has gone over very well! One guy even said it was better than his mothers...OPE! ;) The recipe is lovely just the way it is but I do make a few personal preference changes. Instead of just butter pads under the skin, I mix loads of fresh minced garlic and mush it with butter then slather it everywhere under the skin. Any leftovers get rubbed on the outside. I would like to try it with all chicken broth but so far I have only done half broth and half bouillon. I also use fresh minced parsley and onions vrs. the dried, this requires you to add a bit more. I like to use half seasoning salt and half Mrs. Dash seasoning. Last but not least, I stuff the cavity and all around the bird with fresh largely cut onions and garlic. (Next time I am going to add celery, carrot and apple as another viewer suggests) Throw it all in a turkey bag and YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m4bree
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I love this turkey i will never cook another turkey again tho i do shove more butter under the breast! THIS IS THE MOST MOIST TURKEY EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I've been making this recipe since I first had to make thanksgiving dinner on my own when I lived in Germany almost 10 years ago. I went with this one becaue of the reviews and becaue I lived in MI when in America. It's simle and great...I even managed to impress my parents who are both incredible cooks an honestly should have there own show or something or that sort. The bird comes out moist every time. A must try for first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We made this as written and stuffed it with onions, carrots, and celery. It was the most delicious turkey we've had so far. 4 cups of water sounds like a lot and looks like a lot, but it left ample juices for an abundance of gravy, my husband's favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Quick and easy! I have made this several times, always with success. This year I tucked some butter under the skin, and also brushed the skin with a little vegetable oil, that helped crisp up the skin nice. I had a 24 pound bird this time so I just doubled everything. This is the only recipe I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States