Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The best turkey I've cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My turkey turned out fantastic! I was a little biased with this recipe being from Michigan, and I'm glad I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
very good; made exactly as said but put more pats of butter throughout the turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This turned out wonderfully! My family was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The best turkey I have ever eaten! In the past, I have purchased very expensive pre-cooked turkeys from various well known places in the Dallas, Texas area. They don't even compare or come close to the quality of this meal. This easy recipe helped me to cook a turkey at home without spending a lot of money. Everyone said that it was the best turkey they had ever eaten. It was moist and super tasty. The turkey literally fell off the bone while carving it. Guests who didn't even care for turkey, liked it. It was a store brand turkey (I actually got it free from a local store) and I used sweet cream butter. It was incredible! I highly recommend it. My only suggestion would be to prepare it the night before, slice it all up ahead of time, soak in the chicken broth mixture remaining in a glass dish, and keep refrigerated overnight. Just pop in the oven (covered with foil) to warm-up the next day or use the microwave instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was good except for 1 problem was the cooking time. It still had another hour to go on the timer when we kept smelling turkey and I thought I had better just take a peek. It's a good thing I did, as it was already well done and would have been burned had I just waited on the timer. The meat did turn out very tender and moist so it worked out okay after all. It was so tender in fact, that it literally fell apart when I tried to remove it from the roasting pan. I used a 13 lb. turkey, unstuffed. I'm still new at fixing the holiday meals as mom or grandma always did it and I was only delegated to bring a side dish, so maybe if I had stuffed it the timing would have been right. Anyway, it was very tasty and I will use this recipe again with the timing adjusted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Excellent. First time ever making a turkey. Came out perfectly. Recipe is simple enough, there were very few ingredients. I even made gravy from the stock. One twist though, I purposely baked the turkey upside down so that the breast meat would remain tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I was raised a half mile from Cornwell's turkey farm outside of Marshall Michigan. I can tell you that this is the closest you will get to their "secret recipe" from their restaurant. The only difference is they soak their fresh turkey in a salt brine (2 cups salt, cover turkey with water - soak over night) before they cook them. Use home made or commercial turkey or chicken broth instead of the bullion and water, fresh chopped onion and fresh parsley in pace of the dried also. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
the only turkey recipe i use! so delicious and moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES TO EAT!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've been cooking turkey for over 30 years and this was the best recipe ever! Canadian Thanksgiving and with some family home we all enjoyed it so much. It turns out so moist, it melts in your mouth. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States