Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Simple and tasty. Mine didn't turn out as moist as others raved, but still yummy and so much easier than other recipes I've tried in recent years. Next year I'll try this recipe again, but cook it in a roasting bag instead of in a roaster tented with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was the best turkey, moist and perfect and it was just the cheap frozen one. The difference is the broth, the turkey sits in a steam bath! It was a 20 pound bird, stuffed and only 4 T of butter under skin. I also basted it every 90 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSU BEAVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The best turkey I ever made!!! Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great recipe. Moist and delicious. My husband even admitted it was better than his father's, especaily the dark meat where the juices had gathered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This turkey was very very moist! I am a first time turkey cooker and it was a really easy recipe. I used all fresh herb instead of the dried (the ratio is 1 tea dried: 3 tea fresh). I have to say, I couldn't taste the herbs that much. My turkey also wasn't very crispy, perhaps that was me...But overall, it was a really simple, stress free recipie that produced a moist turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Best turkey I have ever eaten, next year I'm making the turkey to take to my in-laws house. I added one clove of garlic and 1 tsp rosemary, but other than that I followed the directions exactly and it was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is the 2nd year that I made this turkey. It has been great both times. The drippings from the gravy boiled down some. When I tasted it was salty so I added enough water to make the 4 original cups and then added another glass full. I also simmered the neck, and other parts and added that broth to the mixture too. The result was one of the best gravies ever and a LOT of it. We also buttered the outside of the bird. It was wonderful. Thanks! PS Turkey cooked in Bellaire, MI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Ok, maybe I overcooked my bird a little, but I figured with all the liquid it wouldn't get dried out, wrong! I did have just a turkey breast and cooked it breast down, I don't know what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulike26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was a fantastic turkey....I did change a few ingredients. Instead of warm water I used half chicken broth and half apple cider. I also reduced the butter I put under the skin. This was a great juicy tasty turkey. And the gravy I made with the drippings was one of the best I ever made. Oh my bird was 13 pounds and it was done in just over 3 hours. Five stars with my changes....thanksRobin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was very good. Everyone thought it was very moist. I will use this again thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States