Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This made the most amazing turkey! I brined my turkey overnight first, then followed the recipe. I was a little worried it might end up too salty when I forgot to cut the salt content of this recipe after brining, but it was perfect! The only thing I did differently was to also add a couple of tablespoons of butter under the skin of each leg. So easy, no basting required and my small family devoured the entire turkey! Will try making a larger bird next time so we might actually have some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I used this recipe to make my first Thanksgiving turkey this year and it turned out wonderfully! It was very moist and tasty and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was wonderfully moist and tasty! We don't eat the skin, so I put all the butter under the skin, cooked the bird, and removed the skin afterwards. The meat was so moist, even the next day! No more dry Thanksgiving turkeys for us! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was easy and so yummy! My family could not believe that I made this myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeaganMD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
So delicious!! Who would have guessed that such a simple preparation could make such a huge difference? This was the tastiest turkey I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was my first attempt at roasting a turkey. I made this as written, except used turkey broth in place of the water and bouillon. Also added a can of beer. It turned out excellent!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I use this recipe every year. It is super delish! makes for a juicy turkey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangeangle
Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
very good!!! my turkey came out really really good everyone needs to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good. Easy enough for my husband to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We've used this recipe for 3 Thanskgivings now and I will never use another. Super easy, super delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States