Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was just o.k. 4+ cups of liquid in the bottom of the roasting pan seemed sort of odd. But then again, a baked turkey is almost foolproof with any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
this turkey is the BEST!!! I can't say enough about it!!! I grew up in a home with a chef and still I have to say this is probably the BEST turkey I have ever had....I will never make a turkey any other way...I am on my third turkey since thanksgiving and usually I don't like turkey!! Thanks so much for the great recipe...side note...I made a 19 lb turkey, with 2 full sticks of butter-same everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Nice recipe for whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Of all the turkey roasting methods I have tried, this is the best by far. Very moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Being a vegetarian I had never made a turkey before, this year I hosted my first Thanksgiving and of course wanted a turkey for my meat-eating family so I made this one (my husband cleaned it and pulled out the giblit bag --too yucky for me). Everyone loved this turkey, it was so moist it was falling off the bone. My only complaint about it is that it is so moist it is hard to remove from the roasting pan/rack, so for looks it didn't really make it to the table, but it was sliced up for the buffet and everyone loved it. I made it in our 18 qt roaster oven and did not cover it with foil. A complete success (except for presentation) and I'll probably use this recipe should I make a turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
The only change we make to this recipe is to put the turkey in an oven bag- then pour the broth mixture on and sprinkle with seasoning salt. The oven bag ensures that the turkey stays juicy- not dry. We make this every year and it is always fabulous. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BINDERSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I hate to be the only negative review but my turkey was very dry. I couldn't believe it after all the great reviews. I used a fresh bird and followed the directions to the letter. The bird looked beautiful when it came out of the oven but so disappointing when there was no juice when slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year (18lb turkey I think) and it was wonderful!! Everyone at our table loved it and commeted how moist & tasty! This will be our annual turkey recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
easy to follow recipy that tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This turned out to be the most tender & juicy turkey that I have ever tasted. The meat just fell from the bone, was very fast and easy to clean up and put away after cooking. Although I did not make gravy this time around, it did leave plenty of juices in the pan for those who do plan on making gravy or soup. I will be sure to do that the next time I use this recipe for the upcoming holidays. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States