Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wow! Thanks for posting Robin! I'm so glad that I decided to try this procedure for roasting turkey! I used 1 Tbls. Better than Bouillon Turkey Base in lieu of the chicken 'broth' (assumed that Robin meant bouillon/base since it was only 3 Tbls.) and only used 2 cups water, but ended up with almost 1 quart of fabulously flavored stock when the liquid was poured off, strained and defatted! Easiest, tastiest gravy base ever! I also cut back on the butter, using only 4 Tbls. I used my oval roaster and simply put the lid on it instead of covering it with foil... the 14 lb. bird I made was done to perfection in 3 hours! Since my turkey was done quicker than I had figured, I didn't get that '45 minute window' to remove the foil to let the turkey brown. I ended up turning on the broiler and returning the bird to the oven, after pouring off the liquid, to add color to the skin.. @8 minutes worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this for my first Thanksgiving turkey because all of the reviews assured me it was easy. Sure enough, the turkey was perfect and everyone raved about it. I made a 21 lb turkey and opted to use an oven bag like another reviewer suggested. I followed the recipe exactly except left out the water because I was using the oven bag. I cooked the turkey for 4 hrs 15 min and it was perfectly brown and juicy. I also used the top floating grease in the bag to make paste with flour and added the rest of the juice to make the gravy. It was the perfect consistency and soooo tasty. Thanks again for a first turkey success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is the BEST turkey recipe ever! It was moist and literally fell apart. Will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this recipe for a small Thanksgiving celebration using a 5 lb. turkey breast instead of a whole turkey. Also, I used fresh parsley instead of dried and cooked it for 2 hours and 15 minutes. I could not believe how moist and flavorful it came out! This is now my go-to recipe for turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Discovered this recipe last year and have made it several times; always get raves. Wouldn't change a thing, it's always moist and flavorful. This recipe is so popular with family and friends, I cook this in the summer in the garage or out on the deck in the electric roaster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burns, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I used this on a turkey my husband shot this past fall....it made it taste soo good! You couldn't tell that it was wild game and it was so tender! This is a keeper and I plan on using it many many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Impressed the mother-in-law with this one! Very tasty and really moist. Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
OK, I know everyone's written about this recipe, but I just have to say that we NEVER eat turkey. I made this for Christmas last year (I was in a "traditional" mode) It literally fell off the bone. It was incredible. We devoured it. NOTHING LEFT. Since then, we've made it several times. Each time - amazing results. I have referred many people to this recipe. It's worth it's weight in gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This is a great way to roast a turkey! Everyone loved it because it was very moist and juicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States