Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Very easy, very good. The turkey was juicy and tasty and all my guests were pleased. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I like to add seasonings inside the pocket fat as well and inside the cavity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
So easy and the turkey comes out moist and delicious. Hasn't failed yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Everyone agreed at my Christmas dinner that this was the best turkey any of us had ever tasted!!! It was sooooo moist!!!! I think we will be having turkey for more than just thanksgivig or Christmas now that I have this recipe!!! It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wow, easy and great! And moist! Last year I made "Perfect Turkey" from this site, which required both brining and turning over during cooking. Don't bother with either! Make this much-easier and just-as-good turkey instead! The only changes I made were to put the turkey on a bed of onion, celery & carrot chunks, and to stuff a few pieces of the above plus a chopped apple into the cavity. None of these veggies are eaten, but they give the turkey and juices a great flavor. Don't use the cooking times in the recipe as my 20-lb bird took only 4 hours. (Also note that in ingredient list, "broth" is supposed to read "bouillon.")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I didn't used to love turkey, but now I do thanks to this awesome, easy to make recipe. I didn't change a thing and it came out perfect. My parents and brother's family say I'll be making the turkey from now on! With this recipe, I don't mind at all. Umm umm, tasty, tender, and golden, just the way turkey should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
this is a very good recipe. I used this on turkey and chicken. I followed the recipe exactly except added a few sprinklings of garlic powder and baked in a cooking bag and took the meat off the bone before serving. I would absolutely recommend cutting back on the seasoning salt. The gravy was excellent just a little too salty. I thickened the pan juices with flour and on one occassion added a jar of store bought gravy to stretch it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was my first time to ever cook a turkey and I have to say it was the best turkey I have ever eaten. I was so scared I was going to mess it up and it turned out so moist. I will use this recipe every time. I even made this in one of those tiny stoves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wow! Thanks for posting Robin! I'm so glad that I decided to try this procedure for roasting turkey! I used 1 Tbls. Better than Bouillon Turkey Base in lieu of the chicken 'broth' (assumed that Robin meant bouillon/base since it was only 3 Tbls.) and only used 2 cups water, but ended up with almost 1 quart of fabulously flavored stock when the liquid was poured off, strained and defatted! Easiest, tastiest gravy base ever! I also cut back on the butter, using only 4 Tbls. I used my oval roaster and simply put the lid on it instead of covering it with foil... the 14 lb. bird I made was done to perfection in 3 hours! Since my turkey was done quicker than I had figured, I didn't get that '45 minute window' to remove the foil to let the turkey brown. I ended up turning on the broiler and returning the bird to the oven, after pouring off the liquid, to add color to the skin.. @8 minutes worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this for my first Thanksgiving turkey because all of the reviews assured me it was easy. Sure enough, the turkey was perfect and everyone raved about it. I made a 21 lb turkey and opted to use an oven bag like another reviewer suggested. I followed the recipe exactly except left out the water because I was using the oven bag. I cooked the turkey for 4 hrs 15 min and it was perfectly brown and juicy. I also used the top floating grease in the bag to make paste with flour and added the rest of the juice to make the gravy. It was the perfect consistency and soooo tasty. Thanks again for a first turkey success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States