Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I have made this recipe several times. It is very moist and has a delicious flavor. I also use the broth after cooking for gravy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARALEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was my first attempt at turkey and turned out great! I used a vegetable bullion instead of chicken and fresh chopped onion. My father even commented that it was better than my grandmother's turkey. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I can remember Thanksgiving in the UP as a child. I found this recipe one year and decided to try it. Brought back some great memories. I probably will not eat turkey any other way now. A must try recipe!! I brine mine for 24 hrs. prior to roasting and all I add to this great recipe is one bottle of stout beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I love, love, love my turkey this way. I don't do the buillion, but use 4 cups of chicken broth instead. The last time I made this, I accidently did 3 tblsp of the onion, parsley, and season salt, but it still turned out great. I usually line my roaster with foil, put all the ingredients on the turkey, wrap it tight, and slow roast on 250 for about 7 to 8 hours (don't even touch it). Yummy stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Easy and nicely done, enjoyed this very much and you can certainly stuff it if you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I am so relieved. My first turkey was a success. :) I followed this recipe exactly, except I used freshly chopped parsley and onion in place of dried. The turkey wasn't pretty when it was done -- it was so moist, it fell apart in the oven. Maybe it would have stayed in one piece if I hadn't cooked it quite as long. I did a full five hours for my fairly small bird. Just wanted to be sure that it was finished, since I don't have a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was an easy recipe. I really liked the butter under the skin. You could really taste it in those pieces of breast meat. While it was cooking I thought it smelled really parsley-y. However, that eventually tamed down. The gravy actually turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was the first time I prepared turkey. It came out fantastic. My brother who never cooks was so enthusiastic that he wanted to try the recipe himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aarhus, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I've used this recipe the last two years and always hear how juicy and delicious the turkey is. I cooked a 22-pounder and a 13-pounder this season, both with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've used this recipe on numerous occasions. I always get compliments on how juicy the meat is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States