Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Everyone complimented how good it was. Meat was tender and juicy. I did increase ingredients a little because I was using a 18 pound turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is THE BEST! I have made more turkeys than I can count, but none have been better than this one. No need to brine, no need to roast upside down, no need to baste. I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect and EASY! Obviously the large amount of liquid combined with the tightly foiled pan allows the bird to be extraordinarily moist and tender. I took the foil off for the last 45 minutes of cooking and the skin browned up beautifully. Thank you Robin, for making this and all future Thanksgivings easy and stress-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it last year, but this year instead of wrapping the pan in foil I seasoned the turkey and wrapped it and placed it in the pan. It was even more tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very good and the stock made great gravy. I will reduce the stock by 1/2 next time, at least. Use the extra to baste with. If you put 4 cups of stock in the pan with the turkey, it destroys any stuffing you might have put inside. So glad I had extra dressing to cook seperately. I would also put the dry ingredients into the turkey roaster and then add the stock. Otherwise, a lot of it sticks to the inside of the measuing cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I used this recipe yesterday, and the "Perfect Turkey" recipe last weekend...this one is THE ONE to use! I did brine my turkey first, and I used an injector to inject the melted butter, and I stuffed with carrots, onion, celery, and an apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was my first time making a turkey, and it turned out awesome! :) It was tender and juicy - great bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
OH MY GOSH this made the most moist turkey breast I have EVER had. This was my first Thanksgiving to ever cook a turkey and it came out SO awesome! The only thing I did differently was to cook it breast down, and then flipped it breast up for those last 45 minutes to let it brown. The skin wasn't super crispy, but the moist and tender breast was so worth that! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I added clementine oranges, fresh thyme, and fresh rosemary to the cavity. I cooked a 12lb turkey about 4.5 hrs at 325-350...removed the foil during the last 30 minutes. I did baste every hour or so.....delicious! This was so moist! I will be making this bird every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoneStar Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used this recipe 3 years ago and lost it. I am cooking Thanksgiving Dinner this year and searched the web until I found it. I always remembered the ingredients and I could not forget the compliments I received at the dinner table. The turkey came out very moist and flavorful. The recipe was very simple and fast. With this recipe the turkey won't have a chance to sit in the refrigerator for days waiting to be eaten.Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i will use this receipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States