Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I added a few things to this recipe, sort of mixed the rosemary turkey with this and added some citrus as well. It gave it a little more kick as I have some fussy people to cook for! But the recipe produced a very moist turkey and even the people who claimed turkey is normally too dry loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent flavor- I brined mine the night before and then doubled the ingredients for my 20 pound bird. You should definitely skip any salt if it has been brined- then you will get some excellent turkey broth to make gravy out of. I baked mine for 1 hour at 375 and then 5 hours at 350- adjust according to size of bird. Never needed any basting, just plopped it in the oven and a beautiful bird appeared when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good flavor, but the "gravy" is pretty watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Cooked much faster in the turkey roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Best bird i have EVER made. It was moist and tasty. Couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat2007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Butter was a little difficult to place between the turkey and the skin but it was well worth it. It's the most succulent and moist turkey that I have made in a few years. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first turkey ever. I smothered it with butter as others suggested and put it in a bag. I doubled it because we had a 23 pounder and while it took a lot longer to cook than expected it did turn out very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We have never made a turkey before. This one was great!! Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The butter saved my turkey! I used a roaster for the baking and that really made it cook a lot faster. 13.5 lb turkey was done done in 2.25 hours. The meat was split from the legs! Luckily all that butter kept the breast area tender. I used 4 cups chicken broth, poultry seasoning and parsley flakes. Had roaster at 350. Next time will roast at 325 as roaster instructions indicated. This is an excellent recipe and will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed directions carefully for Thanksgiving and when I removed the foil, the turkey fell apart. There was just this pile of turkey pieces saturated in the broth. The legs fell right off the carcass. There were no brown bits in the bottom of the pan with which to make rich, dark gravy. Fortunately, it was just for my husband and I, as I would have been ashamed to serve it to guests. The meat tasted good, however and was certainly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States