Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
i've cooked a bit, but yesterday was my first turkey. thanks for your recipe, which worked great. i added about 6 cups of water, chopped celery, and more chopped onion to the pan, with the neck and heart. once turkey was done, i strained it, and added another 2/3 cups water mixed with ~4 tablespoons corn starch...heated and had a great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe. My first time making the turkey and it was beautiful. Was assigned to make this recipe again. Turkey was very juicy and tender. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Such succulent turkey delicious and very moist. Family loved it. Recommend this to any 1st timers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Best. Turkey. Ever. This is what I've done the past several years: I use the brine technique described in another recipe on this site called "Perfect Turkey" then I prepare the turkey according to the Homestyle/Michigander way. I use a meat injector to get some of the water/seasoning mixture into the bird before I pour the mixture all over it. I use a roasting pan with a lid and I leave it. I do not uncover it to baste or anything until time is up. I get rave reviews every time. The remaining turkey stock makes an excellent gravy with a very easy recipe on this site called "Savory Turkey Gravy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made the way recipe suggests. Came out wonderful. I didn't even baste it very much and was really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incredibly incompetent

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Best Thanksgiving turkey we have prepared. It was so moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe was amazing! My turkey was so moist and so flavorful. Be sure to baste the turkey frequently. It does also brown up quickly but it makes for a crisp outside and very moist, flavorful inside. I had many compliments at my Thanksgiving dinner on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
It was my first time cooking a turkey and this recipe was so awesome!! I got so many compliments on my turkey and as a person who doesn't like leftovers, this definitely was not the case with this recipe! I kept craving more and more. I added honey to the top of the turkey towards the end, if you like honey, definitely try that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allisonlaw58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The best turkey I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
A wonderful recipe! Just needed more broth in the bottom for gravy in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States