Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was the very first turkey that I have ever made. I was very nervous as it would certainly be a disappointment for my guests not to have a turkey on Thanksgiving. Happy to say it was fantastic and everyone loved it. So simple to make and nearly no prep work... GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Amazing turkey! I used chicken stock instead of the water/bouillon (all I had on hand.) Instead of 4 cups, I used a cup and a half (and that was more than enough for us.) Very juicy and tender. Kept it uncovered for an hour, skin crisped right up. Family loved it and asked for it again next year. I also submitted a photo of my turkey using this recipe to a local radio station (a contest for best cooked turkey of the Lowcountry) and won :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great turkey, but don't try to make gravy with the drippings. It will be WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jac Zifos
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious! The Turkey was so moist and juicy, done just perfectly. This was such a nice, simple recipe, just what we were looking for. Instead of traditional seasoned salt, we used garlic salt and substituted chicken broth for the bouillon. My husband basted several times as well, even though it was covered with foil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac Zifos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Decided on making this instead of what I did last year. My b/f loves it and insisted that I make this again next year. Made the gravy out of the juice with flour and stirred...it was soo good! Oh yea...I added garlic powder in with bullion and warm water. So...this is 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We had two Thanksgiving dinners with our families this year. I used this recipe for the first dinner, and it was SO wonderful, my wife insisted I use it for the second dinner, as well. The turkey was falling off the bone, it was so tender and moist. Our daughter in law insisted I send her the recipe. I have never had a turkey turn out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This turkey is amazing! So easy to make as well! We make it this way EVERY year and have family members fighting over the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome! The only thing I add is a solid covering of paprika just before I put the foil on. The pan drippings are amazing in the stuffing and mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe for beginners! Made it last year for Christmas and thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Trying it on Thursday... I don't cook holiday dinners very often, can anyone tell me since there are liquids in this recipe if I should place the bird on the rack in the roasting pan or do I want the bird to sit in the juices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States