Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I found this recipe and after reading reviews decided to try it. I have to say, it was my best turkey EVER! My husband could not stop eating it while he was supposed to be carving. I will never make a turkey any other way. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Used this recipe to make my first turkey this year. It turned out great! The meat was moist and the skin was nice and golden. I did not have seasoning salt so I just used salt and pepper. It was super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have made this turkey for the past 3 years! It's absolutely amazing and a huge family hit. There's not a thing I would change...NOT ONE THING! Cooks a lot faster in a roaster oven, saving the con. oven for casseroles and rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
It was a good turkey simple and it was juicy but it needed more flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Turkey turned out awesome! I skipped the parsley and used onion powder. Covered the breast with foil until the last hour of cooking and baked at 330 degrees. I stuffed with Bread and Celery Stuffing from this site. Turned out a beautiful golden color and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was a good recipe. I think I roasted my turkey for about 30 min. too long but it still turned out great. This did make a ton of drippings which I throw out so I may not use as much broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this turkey this year for Thanksgiving and it turned out great! I put it in the roaster and cooked until the breast thermometer popped. It was so easy! This was only my second attempt at cooking a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my second year making turkey, first time using this recipe. Big hit!! The recipe IS as simple as it sounds with hardly any prep time. I had a 13lb. bird, and elevated it in the pan with a small rack. After preparing as directed (being very generous with the butter, especially near the drums), I covered the entire turkey in foil. (No tent). Basically, my turkey steam cooked. After two hours, I was pleasantly surprised to see it had turned a beautiful golden brown. I only took the foil off the last half hour of cooking, for browning and only basted once the foil was off. I was going to use the drippings to make a sauce or gravy, but I didn't need to. Needless to say, this was the juiciest, most flavorful turkey I have ever eaten in my life. Sp simple, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADENIKITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Best and juiciest turkey I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made plenty of turkeys in my day, usually brining. I thought I would try something with a bit more seasoning and with the rave reviews this one gets, thought I would try it. It was only OK - nothing near the OMG level these folks are talking about. Usually, my turkey get "oh very juicy" or "very good". Not one compliment here (nor any disses, and my family is frank). The meat was not dry, but also not as juicy as brining yields. The onion flavor distracts from turkey itself. And for those of you who love the crispy, brown skin to nibble on while carving, fughetabatit! I think for my next turkey I will combine some of the ideas here and brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States