Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first turkey ever. I smothered it with butter as others suggested and put it in a bag. I doubled it because we had a 23 pounder and while it took a lot longer to cook than expected it did turn out very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We have never made a turkey before. This one was great!! Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The butter saved my turkey! I used a roaster for the baking and that really made it cook a lot faster. 13.5 lb turkey was done done in 2.25 hours. The meat was split from the legs! Luckily all that butter kept the breast area tender. I used 4 cups chicken broth, poultry seasoning and parsley flakes. Had roaster at 350. Next time will roast at 325 as roaster instructions indicated. This is an excellent recipe and will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed directions carefully for Thanksgiving and when I removed the foil, the turkey fell apart. There was just this pile of turkey pieces saturated in the broth. The legs fell right off the carcass. There were no brown bits in the bottom of the pan with which to make rich, dark gravy. Fortunately, it was just for my husband and I, as I would have been ashamed to serve it to guests. The meat tasted good, however and was certainly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have made this several times and it has always turned out well. The first time I made, I use bullion cubes crushed up for lack of understanding with the ingredient and it drippings were too salty to be used for anything. But the bird was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
You just can't ignore a ratings score like that. I made my first every turkey on thanksgiving this year and used this recipe, used fresh onion instead of dried and rosemary instead of parsley. It was perfect. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was my first time making a Turkey and it was the best I've tasted. I used a boneless w/meat turkey breast.. I brined it over night w/1c brown sugar, 1c kosher salt, 2gallon water, 1tbspn pepper and 3 table spoon of garlic.. I followed the full recipe and added italian seasoning and garlic to the bird.. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe does not call for basting, but I basted the turkey every half hour for the last two hours. I also used about one and a quarter sticks of butter. The chicken boullion - I used a full box (8 packets). I added one full chopped onion in the center and crushed garlic. Make sure you put the foil over the turkey, but try not to let it touch the turkey in too many areas. I cooked the Turkey for 5 hours at 350 degrees Farenheit (180 celcius) for a 17lb turkey. Tasted moist, but I think it could have used the full amount of season salt, I just sprinkled a small amount on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I found this recipe and after reading reviews decided to try it. I have to say, it was my best turkey EVER! My husband could not stop eating it while he was supposed to be carving. I will never make a turkey any other way. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Used this recipe to make my first turkey this year. It turned out great! The meat was moist and the skin was nice and golden. I did not have seasoning salt so I just used salt and pepper. It was super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homestyle Turkey the Michigander Way

Even beginning cooks can make perfect turkey every time. We’ll show you how!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States