Homestyle Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I use a frydaddy! Such an easy snack! I crave them!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made these for the first time tonight, July, 17, 2014. I was always afraid to try home made because I could never cut the potatoes thin enough. I have an inexpensive mandolin that is perfectly suited for thin slicing. Once this was done the rest is easy! My husband raved and said they were as good as Lays! I know he was being kind, but I will take that compliment any time. I finally got to try the last batch I made because I never brought them out to him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Excellent! Never a chip left. I use my $15 handheld mandolin to slice (from Kohls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I followed cmatlock's advice to use HOT water, because it made sense. And used a veggie peeler to make the slices. Came out PERFECT! (and this could be a problem...couldn't stop eating them...) also, I used grape seed oil for two reasons: it's a healthier fat & it has a very high burn point. I use it for all of my frying. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These were awesome, i fried mines in a pan because i dont have a deep fryer. It was really good, my son loved them, they were nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieP
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have not made them yet but I do love the ratings and I love the extra ideas people have done I am making some today Excited to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was my first time trying homemade chips, as well as using my new fryer! I also used potatoes that had started to "eye", and I had them in water for only about 20 minutes before towel drying them and frying. I also did not soak them in salt water, just tap water. I don't have a special tool for slicing them, so I used a potato peeler to make the slices. For us, this was the perfect consistency and chip size. I fried each batch for six minutes, and it was perfectly golden/brown. I put them onto a plate with a towel, and then salted them immediately. My whole family devoured them! My six year old daughter said that they were the best chips she'd ever eaten. Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy The Magnificent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
these were delicious!!!!Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just made these for the first time, and I kept it simple, but I wanted to pass on the technique that I used: I washed and removed eyes from 4 red potatoes, but did not peel them. Some of my taters were sprouting from their eyes already. I sliced them with my pampered chef mandoline slicer, so it only has the one thin slicing blade. I soaked the slices in cold water, changed the water several times, and the last soaking I added a hefty amount of salt. Rinsed them again, laid the slices on kitchen cloths/paper towels, and patted them dry. I heated my 10-inch cast iron frying pan, added about 1/2 cup canola oil, and brought it up to heat (level 8 out of 10 on a gas stove). I added potato slices so they could float freely side-by-side, not stacked on top of each other. I found that using 2 long-tined dinner forks were perfect for moving them, turning them, and removing them to a waiting paper-toweled cookie sheet, where I sprinkled them with salt. They were delicious! The first bunch were probably undercooked, as I was afraid of burning them, but the later batches were crispy on the edges, barely soft in the middle, perfect! I will make these again! I wish I had some malt vinegar to sprinkle over them right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States