Homestyle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I substituted prepared mustard for the dry stuff (I'm not a huge mustard fan). I chopped some carrots and green bell peppers in there for taste. To keep it moist, I like to add some diced tomatoes and include the liquid. Not sure what my measurements are but I know I use like 1/2 a carrot, 1/4-1/2 a green bell pepper and a large sized can of the diced tomatoes. What I really love about this recipe (now that's I've totally distorted it) is the glaze on top. It's simple but has some great results. My bf is picky, picky, picky, but he liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This meatloaf was a hit with my non-meatloaf-loving husband. Success! I used whole oats instead of instant, and because of that, the mixture was a little too wet, so I added about 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, and it was perfect. I also added some fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The combo of meats was super tasty! I used dry stuffing instead of the oats. It was great even for my hubby who does not like meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The boyfriend was apprehensive about having meatloaf at first but I finally went ahead and used this recipe. To add to the recipe I added a half a green pepper - diced - and it came out wonderful! The reason I'm giving this 4 stars is that when I cut it to serve, it fell apart rather easily. Maybe I didn't mix the egg in well enough? All in all, still very TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight, and what a hit it was. I used one of the recommendations, and did 1/2 of the oats and then 1/2 of chicken stuffing. It was perfect. Very moist, held together well when taking it out of the pan and when slicing. I think that this will be our family's new meatloaf recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My very picky boys who eat no meat love this! It's a staple in my house now...one of the few ways we can get iron in our boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good dish. I used two cups whole wheat bread crumbs in place of oats and used 1 pound of hot flavored sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
didn't have any oats or mustard, so I just left the mustard out of it and threw in some instant rice instead of the oats. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, Maine, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
love this! heaven! meat lovers delight! used whole oats & just fine. chorizo kicks it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This meatloaf has lots of flavor. I only gave it 4 stars because the baking time wasn't long enough. There was still a fair amount of pink in the meat after baking. I omitted the dry mustard-I'm not a mustard fan-and substituted the quick oats for an equal amount of cornbread stuffing. My husband isn't a big meatloaf fan, but he LOVED this recipe! My advice, bake about 15 minutes longer before you put the ketchup on-and make extra ketchup mix so you can have more to put on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States