Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Having been to a couple of luaus now, this effectively recreates the taste as well as you can without burying a pig in your back yard. We used a low sodium soy sauce, which was fine as their is more than enough salt in the recipe. We cooked a 4 lb butt in the slow cooker for about 8 hours, steaming with the cabbage for the last 30 minutes. The result was great. I served it with Guam styled fried rice, so it was a real gut buster feast. While buns or rolls are somewhat traditional, as a low glutein household we don't feel they are required. in fact, the first time I served this with hot dog buns the bread was ignored entirely, as everyone was perfectly full with pork, cabbage, rice and vegetables. while not anyone's idea of a health nut dinner, this is certainly a good option if you want a breadless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used low sodium soy sauce and a bag of shredded red cabbage. I also added ~1/2 cup of water to the crock pot. It was a bit salty, so next time I will cut back on the kosher salt, and increase the pepper, ginger and liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe, but added 1/2-1 cup of chicken broth and discovered that was totally unnecessary as it was a little soupy. It was still delicious, but I, too, would cut the salt down a little next time (I also used low sodium soy sauce). The next night I reheated some (it makes A LOT!) of the meat in a pan so it got a little crispy and made burritos. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent Kalua Pork. Thanks for the recipe Mei. I chose this recipe over others because it called for ginger, worcestershire, and some soy sauce vs. just salt and liquid smoke, which I feel flavored the roast much better. I also used medium grain Hawaiian Alaea Sea Salt. If you do use a granule salt, like I did, whether it be Kosher or Hawaiian, assure that you first crush it with a mortar and pestle, and cut the salt back if you don't like your meat very salty. I also served the pork over a bed of the steamed cabbage leaves just as it was served to us at "Feast at Lele" Luau in Maui last month. I would recommend this for two reasons. First, this is a lot of pork and since there were lots of left over’s, I wanted my cabbage steamed fresh when eating it again, not soggy as it would be when you reheat it with the cabbage mixed in. Second, I also added Mexican spices,(Chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper. etc..), and made some delicious shredded pork tacos for lunch one day. I will be making this recipe again many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved this! My boyfriend who grew up on Oahu could not stop raving about how amazing this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Tried this exactly as stated in the recipe. It was wonderful. Reminded us so much of what we used to eat when we lived in Hawaii. It was a little salty, but that's how I remember it. We served it with white sticky rice. The family wants it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this for a neigbhorhood potluck and it was enjoyed by everyone. It is so very very easy and tastes better than the kaluha pork at the luaus in Hawaii. Moist and flavorful, no need to add liquid because as the meat cooks it generates its own liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! Didn't bother with salt since I used regular soy sauce, and it turned out fantastic. I've made this twice and the first time I put the cabbage in the crock as instructed, but I felt like it didn't get soft enough. So the second time, I just boiled in a skillet on the stove with some butter, salt, and pepper, and served along side the pork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was delicious but a bit salty.. I will make it again and use half the salt and double the ginger. Then I believe it will be 5 stars. It was still very good and so easy to make. It did wake me up at 3:00 in the morning because of the delicious smell coming out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I made mine with spinach instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States