Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used low sodium soy sauce and a bag of shredded red cabbage. I also added ~1/2 cup of water to the crock pot. It was a bit salty, so next time I will cut back on the kosher salt, and increase the pepper, ginger and liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe, but added 1/2-1 cup of chicken broth and discovered that was totally unnecessary as it was a little soupy. It was still delicious, but I, too, would cut the salt down a little next time (I also used low sodium soy sauce). The next night I reheated some (it makes A LOT!) of the meat in a pan so it got a little crispy and made burritos. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Having been to a couple of luaus now, this effectively recreates the taste as well as you can without burying a pig in your back yard. We used a low sodium soy sauce, which was fine as their is more than enough salt in the recipe. We cooked a 4 lb butt in the slow cooker for about 8 hours, steaming with the cabbage for the last 30 minutes. The result was great. I served it with Guam styled fried rice, so it was a real gut buster feast. While buns or rolls are somewhat traditional, as a low glutein household we don't feel they are required. in fact, the first time I served this with hot dog buns the bread was ignored entirely, as everyone was perfectly full with pork, cabbage, rice and vegetables. while not anyone's idea of a health nut dinner, this is certainly a good option if you want a breadless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved this! My boyfriend who grew up on Oahu could not stop raving about how amazing this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Tried this exactly as stated in the recipe. It was wonderful. Reminded us so much of what we used to eat when we lived in Hawaii. It was a little salty, but that's how I remember it. We served it with white sticky rice. The family wants it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved the flavor of the pork. Used pork tenderloin--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this for a neigbhorhood potluck and it was enjoyed by everyone. It is so very very easy and tastes better than the kaluha pork at the luaus in Hawaii. Moist and flavorful, no need to add liquid because as the meat cooks it generates its own liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
When we got back from Maui I wanted to make some authentic Hawaiian food and found this recipe. All I can say is "Yummy!" It was like bringing a little bit of paradise home with us! My son's wedding is Hawaiian themed and he and his fiance' asked me to cook up a huge bunch of Kalua pork for the reception. I've done two crock pots worth so far and need to do one more. this is great served on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Omit the salt!! Double the rest of the ingredients (except the pepper) and it is smokey and savory. A nice alternative to BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The pork came out super tender and juicy. I didn't use liquid smoke (substituted with a smoky spice mix I got from Trader Joes) and the pork came out tasting bland, so next time I'll try liquid smoke and maybe add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States