Homestyle Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Homestyle Chicken & Biscuits Haiku: "Forgot to add milk. Glad I started biscuits first, made sure they were done!." Other than some garlic powder and dried parsley added to the soup/cheese/chicken/vegg mixture, I kept everything the same, but also took advice of many reviews saying to do the biscuits partially separate b4 finishing their baking time on top of everything. This was an easy and comforting dish, and one that I'll look forward to making again in the fall, although it could benefit from the additional of some sauteed onions, additional spices, and peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
SUPER Easy and DELICIOUS!!!! I doubled it based off others recomendations, so glad i did. I added extra veggies, finely diced onions, salt, pepper garlic. and i used cooked chicken. I split the biscuts in half and put them on top and once they were golden i flipped over and brown the other side. SO SO good and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Really great recipe but the biscuits did not get fully done. Made it a second time and cooked biscuits half time on cookie sheet and then finished baking on casserole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Cockerill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I doubled everything.... I used 5 chicken breast cooked and chopped.... I added mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup..... I cooked the biscuits half way first then added them to the top to finish cooking... For my taste, I found this to be a very bland... Needs more flavor... I will not make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Loved this! So good! Didn't have canned chicken so fried up a couple chicken breasts....still so easy to make! This is going to be a regular meal around here now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good recipe, nice spin on chicken broccoli casserole. I made a few changes. I used a lot less than 1/4 cup of milk, more like the bottom of the soup can worth. Mine always comes out soupy when I use more. I did not use any pepper, instead I used basil, oregano, dried onion, and fresh parsley...roughly a teaspoon of each. The frozen veggie mix I had was with carrots, green beans, and peas and I also used a bit of fresh broccoli. I have no clue what canned chunk chicken is. I boiled chicken and cubed that. After I put the chicken in my casserole dish, I tossed with a tablespoon of caesar dressing, then put the rest together, adding cheese and mixing and then topping with cheese. I didn't cook with the biscuits because the last time I made something like this, my boyfriend didn't like the mushy biscuits. I cooked for 20 minutes, but it could have used more time. Overall, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this dish recently, with two changes: I doubled the recipe, and omitted the cheese. It came out very tasty and filling, and was extremely easy. However, as others have said, I would suggest baking the biscuits separately and adding them on top right before serving. Mine came out slightly doughy on the bottom following the recipe. Overall a good recipe I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Recipe was good and very easy. However the biscuits did not cook in the recommended time, I would suggest cooking them on a separate cookie sheet. The only thing different I did was to buy a precooked chicken from the grocery store and shredded it. Next time I will try the canned to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A really yummy base recipe, but the biscuts were still kind of raw- I think I'll cook them on a baking sheet for a little bit 1st next time. I have made a healtheir version by using rice instead of biscuits. *EDIT* I made it again, this time I cooked the biscuts for 5 mins before adding them so it wasnt raw. Also I used 1 can cream of ck, 1 can cream of potato and I added onion. Very yummy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was a really quick recipe that got both my kids to eat broccoli and cauliflower. The biscuits only got done on the top half though. Next time I will bake the biscuits seperately. Also the canned chicken is very easy, but it would probably be better with chicken breast cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States