Homestyle Beef, Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great weeknight recipe and it's perfect as it is! The only thing I didn't add was the can of corn because I didn't have any and truthfully this recipe does not need the corn! Excellent leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was wholly underwhelming. For the reviewer who complained of people changing a recipe before they try it as-is -- that's just plain wrong. A seasoned cook can tell just by looking at a recipe that it won't taste good as written. I knew that going into this recipe so I did a lot to try and improve it. I added sautéed onion & garlic, onion powder, Red Robin seasoning, Italian seasoning and used Tomato Bisque soup instead of plain tomato because it has a richer flavor. I used cheddar because it has a stronger flavor than mozzarella. Still, this meal was very disappointing. My toddler and preschooler ate a few bites and were done. My husband and I ate it but the leftovers will find their way to the disposal -- of that I'm sure. I made this only because I needed something fast and had the ingredients on hand. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great base recipe. I added chilli, garlic, and itialian seasoning and used tomatoe sauce because I was out of tomatoe soup. I think I will play with the seasonings more next time but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Came across this recipe when I was looking for something simple to cook with ingredients I already had on hand. Loved it, but I didn't have tomato soup or tomato juice, so I ended up using a 3/4 of a jar of Newman's own marinara sauce instead. Which is my fave. I also used a cup of Sargento six blend Italian shredded cheese. Came out great! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Good base recipe, like the others, I added some things to suit my taste, I had some mild italian sausage, italian seasoning, chopped onion, chopped garlic, I didn't have tomato juice, so I used a can of grape tomatoes with juice along with the tomato soup and it turned out very good. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very tasty! I used a meatloaf seasoned tomato sauce and added green beans with the corn. It was delish, and reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a quick & easy weeknight dinner when things are hectic & you're pressed for time, but it's not something I'd serve to company. It's important to use a good cut of hamburger. I used "Laura's Lean Ground Beef" with 8% fat & I didn't like it; the dish had an overwhelming hamburger taste. I seasoned the hamburger with Accent, garlic powder, garlic salt, pepper, table salt & diced onion while browning it. I also added a generous amount of those same seasonings after all of the ingredients were combined in the pot & used both of cheddar & mozzarella cheeses. Serve it with a side of garlic bread & a salad and your family will have a hot supper on nights when you're just too busy or too tired to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I run a home daycare, so when the clock strikes 5:30 and the kids leave for the day, I'm always looking for something easy and quick to fix for dinner. I have to say I was a little skeptical about this one. I was in a pinch and had all of the ingredients on hand so I tried it. I was surprised! YUM! That's all I can say. My husband and I both liked it! My kids weren't hungry so didn't eat much, but it's right up their alley too. AND Bonus! It is an excellent "all-in-one" meal to serve to my daycare kids for lunch! I added a little bit of Garlic powder and onion salt... next time I might try adding some fresh onion and maybe even diced tomatoes. Overall? Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
We had this last night, it was pretty good, not great. I did take the advice of many of the reviews and added 1tbsp italian seasoning, it could have used more; also added garlic & onion. I forgot to buy tomato juice so I added a can of diced tomatoes - I really liked them in the meal. I used 2c cheddar cheese, would like to try with sharp cheddar next time. I also used a whole pound of macaroni, it wasn't too much pasta for the liquid in the recipe, it just needs flavor. I probably will make it again some night when we need a quick meal. **UPDATE** I made this again and still used a can of diced tomato, the soup, and a small 5.5oz can of V8 because my husband thought it was slightly dry the first time - he prefers pasta "saucy" - and I added a tablespoon of worchestershire sauce too along with the onion & garlic. I added 1-1/2 tablespoons of italian seasoning this time and all else the same (still using a pound of pasta - whole wheat elbows) and I did try the sharp cheddar that I've been wanting to try - we all really loved the changes. This made it VERY GOOD when before it was just 'pretty good' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made a few changes in regard to ingredient amounts for our dietary needs but otherwise very good overal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States