Homestyle Beef, Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
i used italian seasoned ground turkey my kids (2 & 1) flipped out they loved it ma and dad loved it and it was quick, its a new standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great weeknight recipe and it's perfect as it is! The only thing I didn't add was the can of corn because I didn't have any and truthfully this recipe does not need the corn! Excellent leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was wholly underwhelming. For the reviewer who complained of people changing a recipe before they try it as-is -- that's just plain wrong. A seasoned cook can tell just by looking at a recipe that it won't taste good as written. I knew that going into this recipe so I did a lot to try and improve it. I added sautéed onion & garlic, onion powder, Red Robin seasoning, Italian seasoning and used Tomato Bisque soup instead of plain tomato because it has a richer flavor. I used cheddar because it has a stronger flavor than mozzarella. Still, this meal was very disappointing. My toddler and preschooler ate a few bites and were done. My husband and I ate it but the leftovers will find their way to the disposal -- of that I'm sure. I made this only because I needed something fast and had the ingredients on hand. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great base recipe. I added chilli, garlic, and itialian seasoning and used tomatoe sauce because I was out of tomatoe soup. I think I will play with the seasonings more next time but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Came across this recipe when I was looking for something simple to cook with ingredients I already had on hand. Loved it, but I didn't have tomato soup or tomato juice, so I ended up using a 3/4 of a jar of Newman's own marinara sauce instead. Which is my fave. I also used a cup of Sargento six blend Italian shredded cheese. Came out great! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Good base recipe, like the others, I added some things to suit my taste, I had some mild italian sausage, italian seasoning, chopped onion, chopped garlic, I didn't have tomato juice, so I used a can of grape tomatoes with juice along with the tomato soup and it turned out very good. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very tasty! I used a meatloaf seasoned tomato sauce and added green beans with the corn. It was delish, and reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a quick & easy weeknight dinner when things are hectic & you're pressed for time, but it's not something I'd serve to company. It's important to use a good cut of hamburger. I used "Laura's Lean Ground Beef" with 8% fat & I didn't like it; the dish had an overwhelming hamburger taste. I seasoned the hamburger with Accent, garlic powder, garlic salt, pepper, table salt & diced onion while browning it. I also added a generous amount of those same seasonings after all of the ingredients were combined in the pot & used both of cheddar & mozzarella cheeses. Serve it with a side of garlic bread & a salad and your family will have a hot supper on nights when you're just too busy or too tired to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I run a home daycare, so when the clock strikes 5:30 and the kids leave for the day, I'm always looking for something easy and quick to fix for dinner. I have to say I was a little skeptical about this one. I was in a pinch and had all of the ingredients on hand so I tried it. I was surprised! YUM! That's all I can say. My husband and I both liked it! My kids weren't hungry so didn't eat much, but it's right up their alley too. AND Bonus! It is an excellent "all-in-one" meal to serve to my daycare kids for lunch! I added a little bit of Garlic powder and onion salt... next time I might try adding some fresh onion and maybe even diced tomatoes. Overall? Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
We had this last night, it was pretty good, not great. I did take the advice of many of the reviews and added 1tbsp italian seasoning, it could have used more; also added garlic & onion. I forgot to buy tomato juice so I added a can of diced tomatoes - I really liked them in the meal. I used 2c cheddar cheese, would like to try with sharp cheddar next time. I also used a whole pound of macaroni, it wasn't too much pasta for the liquid in the recipe, it just needs flavor. I probably will make it again some night when we need a quick meal. **UPDATE** I made this again and still used a can of diced tomato, the soup, and a small 5.5oz can of V8 because my husband thought it was slightly dry the first time - he prefers pasta "saucy" - and I added a tablespoon of worchestershire sauce too along with the onion & garlic. I added 1-1/2 tablespoons of italian seasoning this time and all else the same (still using a pound of pasta - whole wheat elbows) and I did try the sharp cheddar that I've been wanting to try - we all really loved the changes. This made it VERY GOOD when before it was just 'pretty good' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States