Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Obviously lots of people like it, based on the ratings. I found that this recipe didn't have enough "corn" taste to it and was too sweet and dense. I hesitate to even call it cornbread, it was kinda like a dense cake at best. I was intrigued by the different method (mixing milk and cornmeal) and I generally follow the recipe exactly as written the first time I make it. Even the recipe on the box of cornmeal is FAR better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Awful. You cant taste the corn flavor at all. I felt it tasted more like a sugar cookie with little sugar and no butter. My husband said it tasted like Play Doh. Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was a total fail for me. I did everything according to the recipe and the suggestions of mixing for 5 mins and it came out like a hockey puck. The flavour was fine but I'm sure glad I didn't have company over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe hoping that it would be light and fluffy like my moms always was when I was a kid but instead it's very dense and bland. Gonna be looking elsewhere for another recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have a honey cornbread recipe that my family has loved for years, but this tops it. It is moist, light and fluffy. I freeze individual portions of whatever I make and this freezes beautifully. It was wonderful with my mother's chili recipe that I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
best cornbread ive ever made,followed recipe as written, beat for full 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Really liked this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karero99
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This cornbread was very good. I followed the recipe as written, but baked it in a cast iron skillet with melted butter in the bottom. This is a must as it gives the bread a nice crisp skin and soft bread inside. It would have been a bit better with more cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Hubby and I love this recipe! It's so easy, even he can make it when I'm not around to do it. :) perfect cornbread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this a week ago with some chili it was PREFECT I SWEAR i love a sweet buttery cb, so i added a bit more butter n suger n a bit more baking power and it looked like a cake with the perfect cornbread taste my best ever and i make pretty good cb but i love trying others take on things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States