Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
If your bread is too dense try beating the batter longer next time. In the original recipe It stated to beat for 5 min. I know this seems extreme, but it will help. This helps whip more air into it. When Allrecipes listed this recipe they modified it. Patricia Bergstrom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
923 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
since it's impossible just to follow a recipe ( and believe me, this cornbread is as good as gold when you do the original ), here are a few variations on the theme which jazzed it up for my picky crew: switch ingredient amounts between the cornmeal and flour; let the milk/cornmeal mixture sit for 10 minutes or so and whisk it a few times; use half white and half light brown sugar; mix the whole batch for at least 5 min. on low speed; bake in a glass pyrex and reduce oven temp by 25 degrees. then soften some butter in the microwave, mix with honey and a pinch of salt ( to taste ) and slather this righteous bread with that spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
865 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
LOVED THIS CORNBREAD!! Its so soft and fluffy and full of corn flavor. My husband is from the south and I've been searching for 5 years for "my" cornbread recipe. I think I finally found it! Cant wait to try it on the inlaws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this for a big gathering this past Sunday. I made it to go along with both a white chili and a regular beef chili. It was awesome!!! Note that I did make the suggested changes below: I used 2 cups cornmeal and 1-1/2 flour; I soaked the cornmeal for 10 minute; I added 1 full cup of sugar and I baked it at 375. It was wonderful. This one's a keeper! Thanks y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
If you try this cornbread, with a few suggestions, you will never make another cornbread recipe. I rated Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread from this site as the best ever, but this surpasses that one by a long shot! It is very important though to read reviews where the submitter of the recipe says to beat the entire concoction for at least 5 minutes before dumping it into the pan to cook. I must admit, I was very skeptical - every bread recipe in the world talks about not over-mixing. But I couldn't find my staple recipe and feeling adventurous, I gave it a try. So glad that I did! What I did was 1) Half the recipe and only use 1/4 c sugar instead of 1/3 c. 2) While the milk/cornbread mixture is sitting for 5 minutes, give it a good whip with a whisk 5-6 times, 3) Beat the entire concoction at least 5 minutes (and set a timer) before dumping in the pan, 4) Put about 2 TBL butter in a 10" cast iron skillet to melt in your 400 degree oven for about 5 minutes while you are beating the mixture then take it out and pour in the cornbread mixture (believe me - this will make all the difference in the world - it is very important to cook it with a cast iron skillet) 5) Only bake it for 20 minutes! This will yield you the most fluffy, corny, airy, moist, slightly sweet but not to powerful to go with anything, piece of cornbread heaven in the world!!! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!! It is my staple from now on - I am not even looking for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was my first time making cornbread from scratch, and it turned out great!! I followed the advice to whisk the mixture for 5 minutes before pouring it in the muffin pan, and there were no problems. I lowered the cooking time to 25 minutes since we chose to make muffins. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This went over very well at dinner. I think my only issue was the corn bread taste wasn't very strong. It was very light compared to others I've tasted and I tend to like very strong flavored cornbread. However, if you're into a lighter cornbread, you'll probably really like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
My husband and I have made this recipe several times and we love it. This is a sweet, dense cornbread, but I find that it's sweetness is a good complement to a spicy chili. It keeps fairly well, but any cut edges will dry out quickly -- however, since the bread is dense, it will still be moist just beyond the cut edge. Only cut off as much as you plan to eat at a time. We also like this at breakfast with a little molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I'm afraid this corn bread recipe is nothing at all like a 5 star recipe. It was dry and tasteless. I followed the recipe exactly, used fresh ingredients, and even left it in the oven a bit less than the time called for. I regret making it for company. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
It wasn't bad, it wasn't great, it was just so-so. The flavor was very light although the bread was of average weight for corn bread. Not sure what to say- wasn't sweet, wasn't corn flavored, wasn't buttery, wasn't much of anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States