Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was a very easy recipe. I followed it exactly, it turned out awesome. This is the most moist cornbread i ever had. I am going to make it again right now but as muffins. I will add chives, jalapeno, and cheese. I hope it turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Baumhartner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeeJae
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Was pretty good, kinda sweet with the amount of sugar the recipe calls for. I'm used to using plain old Jiffy cornbread muffin mix, which is what I like, but when I moved I couldn't find Jiffy anywhere, so I made this recipe. It's not like the Jiffy stuff, but it's still good. I followed the recipe. Next time, I'll take other reviewer's suggestions and beat the batter longer and use a bit less sugar. I think that will help it taste more like the cornbread I'm used to. EDIT: Okay, it's been a few days since I made this recipe, and I can't stand the taste of it anymore. It was way too sweet, had a funky taste, the bread itself was thick and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This cornbread is the bomb. Added a tablespoon of honey to the batter and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this cornbread to have at our Chili Supper Evening for twelve ladies. Everyone asked me for the recipe. We all gave the recipe a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I live in the South where cornbread typically doesn't include sugar, but I prefer this recipe over any others I've tried. I read the reviews and beat the batter for five minutes on low in a stand mixer. I also included about 2/3 cup corn because I like the look of the kernels in the bread. The cornbread was almost like a cake. It rose beautifully and came out fluffy. Everyone loved it, including my husband who isn't a huge fan of standard Southern cornbread. I have served this a few times with chili, potato soup, and a curry stew, and thought it was the perfect complement to each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good. Super moist. I followed the recipe exactly...making it for dinner again tonight, this will be the 4th time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The taste is good, but either the time baking, or the temperature, are way off. After 40 minutes at 400, the centre of the loaf was still a gooey mass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made this for family get together and everyone raved over it! Doubled the recipe and it was gone in no time. Definitely keeping this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Truly fool-proof recipe! I didn't have the proper cornmeal so I used polenta. I didn't have the proper white flour so I used unbleached flour. Didn't have granulated white sugar either. I had to use brown sugar and I only had 1/4 cup of that. I did have salt and reasonably good baking powder and good eggs. I even had to make up powdered milk! Soaking the polenta worked great. Thanks for the note Willowsmom. I blended all the liquid items (milk,oil and eggs) and let it sit for 15 minutes. I beat the batter again before adding the baking powder, salt and flour. By then the oven was hot (which aided the baking powder). It came out great! It absorbs butter very well. Was great with chili. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisa
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Hands down this is the easiest and BEST cornbread to make. Didn't have buttermilk on hand but added a splash of vinegar to the cup of milk and let sit briefly then followed recipe EXACTLY as written. Family immediately said how good and moist it was. Must try it will not disappoint. First review I've ever done because it was so good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States