Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Love this recipe! It is moist, makes a good amount for my large family, and tastes fantastic. This is now my go to recipe for cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stopandsmelltheflowers
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This cornbread is great - soft and cakey which makes it perfect for dipping in soups and chilis. I did not bother using more than one bowl and it still turned out perfectly. Easy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was very tasty! Texture was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly and I will make a few changes next time. It needs a little more salt to bring out more flavor and a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather in AZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I created an account on this site just to comment on how great this cornbread is!! I've never made corn bread before, and I am so impressed with myself right now. I subbed in unsweetened applesauce for oil, and demerera for white sugar, and made them into muffins (2doz). I also beat the mix for 5 minutes, like everyone else said, and only baked for 25 minutes. My husband made a bit of maple butter and BAM! These are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Having never eaten or made cornbread before I thought I'd give this a go! I made a slightly smaller batch and didn't put in all the sugar but it tastes great and went really well with the veggie chilli I made. I think I would put even less sugar in next time I make it. Goes really well with apple butter, too! Great recipe - thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I tried the recipe and it was amazing! i did have some issues with it being undercooked but that was because I used an improper pan. Otherwise it was very good. I am from the south, Georgia and it tasted like I was home again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth453

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The whole family loved it! Beat the batter for 5 minutes and it came out perfect. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made this with buttermilk because I had some on-hand that I needed to use up, and it was the best homemade cornbread that I have ever had! It was super moist, perfectly (not overly) sweet and had great texture. I don't even want to know how many calories it has per serving! Haha. But regardless, I WILL be making this again! :) Thank you, WILLOWSMOM99!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmers70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made Grandmothers Buttermilk cornbread last weekend and this one today. This is my favorite! I only cooked it for 25 minutes, I think if I cooked longer than that it would of been too dry. This is moist and has really good flavor. I found Grandmother Buttermilk recipe too sweet. This one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I found that this recipe didn't have enough "corn" taste to it and was too sweet and dense, it was a dense cake at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States