Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It was my first time to make cornbread from scratch. I made TWO pans to feed the family. It was pretty good I added a stick of melted butter a little bit of pepper to mine it was pretty dang good.A little to cake like for me. It did stick well together and tasted great but I think I will add more cornmeal to my next attempt THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slimgooch

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
best one i have tried so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was not what I was looking for. It was posted as a moist cornbread, yet was far from moist. I agree that this was not a 5 star recipe. I think perhaps buttermilk or sour cream should be added to give it some moisture. I will continue my search to other cornbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
A great cornbread recipe! I made it gluten free by using sorghum & white rice flours with about two teaspoons xanthan gum. It was delicious. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was very good. My only complaint was that it was not "grainy" as I expect cornbread to be (maybe because of the 5 min. soak) Following others I did switch the flour & meal amounts, beat batter 5 full min., increase sugar to full cup and reduce temp. by 25* for pyrex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This cornbread was very good. I like a little bit sweeter cornbread but it had the correct texure for my taste buds. I would probably make again with some minor tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I had a big chili dinner for family and friends this past weekend. I just knew cornbread was a must and since I have never made it from scratch before the hunt was on for the perfect recipe. This one fit the bill and instead of a baking dish, I used a preheated and butter cast iron skillet. I got lots of compliments and will be using this recipe in the future for all of my cornbread needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup2746

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very very good. I loved this corn bread. Very easy to make and makes a really good quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Made exactly as stated and it was awesome!! thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent results. This is the first recipe that I've seen where you soak the corn meal, but it makes perfect sense. I baked it in a cast iron skillet and it rose beautifully. It was sweet and moist - perfect with the stew. I think it could easily be converted into Mexican cornbread with the addition of a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States