Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe. The cornbread was very moist. The 11/2 cup of corn meal was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is my new go-to recipe for cornbread! I serve it whenever I make the Ultimate Chili recipe from this site. If there's any left over (rarely!), I warm it up for breakfast with butter and blackberry preserves. Wonderful recipe -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This cornbread was very good, but it was a little too sweet for me. Next time I will reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. The batter was also runny, but it turned out fine. Very dense as others said, but I will try whisking longer. Also, I did not soak the cornmeal in milk which may be why it was runnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a great cornbread recipe. The cornbread is moist and flavorful. However, the cornbread is also a bit dense, and it must be cooked in a 9X13; it looks a lot like a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is the first time I made cornbread. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The cornbread turned out perfectly...next time tho I think I will use less sugar... Thanks so much for the excellent recipe. Don
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent cornbread. Light, sweet, tasty. Family could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This turned out excellent! I made it xactly as instructed, and it was well recieved. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anahid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I don't know if it's the soaking of the cornmeal with the milk or what, but this is THE BEST cornbread recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this corn bread last night and my whole family loved it. My husband said that I should use this recipe and nothing else, and actually wanted to eat some this morning. This is now my "go to" corn bread recipe. The only change I made was I added 3 tbsp of 100% melted butter. It came out perfect! The recipe actually yields a lot so if you don't need a lot I would half everything. I have a family of 6 and this was enough for everyone, and we had plenty of corn bread left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Normally I make a recipe as written before I play with it, but this time I couldn't help myself. I tweaked the recipe a little, adding an extra 1/4 tsp of baking powder and 2 Tbsp of honey, and substituted for the cow's milk with almond milk since we have a dairy allergy in the household. I wanted to make muffins instead of a big pan of cornbread, so I decreased the oven temperature to 375 and filled 24 standard muffin cups 2/3 full. I baked the muffins for 15 minutes and they turned out nice and light with that hint of honey flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States