Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe with some modifications. First I halved the recipe and subbed heavy cream and 1/2 1/2 for the milk and used melted butter instead of oil. Used a bit more butter than called for. As one reviewer mentioned the submitter of this recipe said it is important to wisk all the ingredients for 5 minutes before pouring batter in to your dish. I did this and my shoulder was not happy with me afterwards lol. It did make for a light, fluffy and MOIST cornbread. Finally found my recipe. Thanks to all the buzzers who helped steer me in the right direction. I took tips from all of you who answered my post. I also only cooked it for 20 minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is by far the best cornbread recipe I have ever used. Even better than my moms and she was an awesome cook! It is just the perfect density, I did adjust the sugar a tad. I've been using this recipe for years. Never had the need to try any other after this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I just made this cornbread. It was fairly moist. But I thought that it could have more corn flavour. It tasted a little watery even though there is no water in it. I would make it again. I made a plain one in an 8 in. round pan and it took only 24 minutes in the oven. I used the rest of the batter in a glass loaf pan, I added bacon pieces to the batter and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese. That one was much more flavourful but took longer to bake. add about 10 minutes more to baking time. It was light and fluffy inside but the outside had a hard crust since it had to bake longer. I would suggest baking it in a cake pan so it won't be as deep as the loaf pan and won't need the longer baking time. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am from Texas where we love our cornbread and I have to say this is the BEST recipe I have ever made. I usually don't like my cornbread sweet, but this is not overly sweet and the sugar adds that little extra touch to make this recipe absolutely perfect! Thanks so much for sharing. I will never use another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Not bad; not outstanding, though, either. I did mix the ingredients on low for 5 minutes as suggested in the comment by the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Perfect Corn Bread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We like our cb a bit sweeter so on second batch I added 2 table spoon stevia and used skim milk to try to counter the added fat of the butter we lathe on to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I don't really know the all the differences between Northern and Southern cornbread, but this recipe delivered exactly what I wanted cornbread to be: it was moist and flavourful, with just enough sweetness and super easy to make. I made sure I beat the batter for 5 minutes in the mixer as WillowsMom99 recommended, I added a can of drained corn, baked it in a cast iron skillet and served it with honey butter and chili. Everyone raved about it and had second and third helpings. Will be my go-to cornbread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was just OK. It was my first time making home made cornbread, and it was just your average cornbread! It did not taste very sweet at all, and I followed the sugar serving recommendations. If you like your cornbread slightly sweet (I did not taste any sweetness, just savory), than perhaps add a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I was so disappointed with this recipe! the cornbread was heavy and tasted like oil. the kitchen smelled like oil. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States