Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I've tried a lot of recipes looking for "the one" and let me tell you, this is it! It is so moist! This will be my go to recipe from now on. I made my in a cast iron skillet. It's a must when making cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I have made this on several occasions including my best friend's wedding rehearsal dinner. I also swap the flour and cornmeal measurements and reduce the oven by 25 degrees. I like it a little sweeter so I add more sugar and I use brown sugar instead of white. When the bread is done I brush a little butter on top and broil it for a few minutes to give the top a nice golden brown colour. I also finely dice a jalapeño pepper with the seeds removed to give it a great smokey pepper taste and a little heat. I have never served this and ended up with left overs. I have also made a gluten free version for my girlfriend's Dad and cousin who both have gluten allergies by using rice flour and baking it a little longer. It comes out more dense and doesn't rise as well but it is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Really great cornbread! The only thing that I think I would do different next time is put a little more salt in the recipe. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Turned out moist & delicious! I let the cornmeal soak in the milk for a while. I also used 2 cups of cornmeal and decreased the flour. I whisked it all together and let it sit. Also I baked at 375 for 30 mins then at 400 for another 5. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was fine. I thought it was a bit bland, dry, and smelled "eggy" to me. Personally, I think the Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins from this site are much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
made this recipe to go with chill. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I sub 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Every fall, my Memom sends me a big box of local South Georgia cornmeal to use for my dressing recipes. I always have a lot left over and need to use it up, so I make cornbread. I've made this with and without the corn (my crew really doesn't do corn) and it's great either way. I've also used this recipe as a base for my cornbread dressing (leave out the sugar) and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
kickass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this exactly as written, but I used a cast iron skillet (in the oven) with some melted butter. This was the tastiest corn bread I have ever made. I have tried several recipes on this site and this is the one I'm keeping. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States