Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is moist and flavorful. Great texture. Made it exactly as written. Not sure how some think this is dry or dense or tasteless. Use better ingredients. Use whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texanbelle71
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this twice now and LOVE it. Cornbread is a big part of my Southern cooking history, and I love this simple from scratch recipe. This isn't sweet and not bitter, not salty...just perfect for anything you want to pair it with. I'm making cornbread stuffing today, and I just took a bite of the cornbread ahead of making the stuffing...it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texanbelle71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Cooked perfectly, very light and fluffy but flavour was a bit too mild for me. Might try again with buttermilk and a bit less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is back as a Thanksgiving encore in our house. The cornbread is delicious, moist, looks gorgeous, tastes fabulous. I did not tweak this one bit. I highly recommend this as I think it's the best cornbread I've had in my entire life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
My husband said it was good In 4 years of cooking nothing has ever been rated cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe never fails! it's the fourth time I make it and it's delicious every time! Great with some home made chilli or for a Canadian twist, as desert with maple syrup YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This corn bread was very good. It made a large amount, good for a crowd. It was dense and held it's shape but was not dry. I am giving 5 stars because although I feel it needs more cornmeal, it was well liked by my family as is. Other comments have mentioned the lack of corn flavor, I completely agree and will use more cornmeal and less flour in the future. However, as is, taste was great just missing a strong corn flavor. I baked for 30 minutes and mixed batter for 5 minutes as recommended by reviewers, it was perfect. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just what I was looking for - Less crumbly than some, sweet but not overbearing, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States