Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Replaced the table sugar with 1/2 cup honey. Tip:use the same measuring cup as the oil. Better flavor, and moist. I also used this recipe for my waffles. I added a mashed banana and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the waffles. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Moist and sweet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great. Whole family loves it. It tastes even better the next day. I did take the suggestion of mixing for 5 minutes other than that I don't change a thing. I have to say this is best cornbread recipe hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family loved it. I baked in my iron skillet. Perfect cornbread. I used butter instead of oil other than that this is a great receipt. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Most moist cornbread ever! Revisions: I swapped the cornmeal and flour quantities, I too whisked it for 5 minutes, I added a cup of grated Monterey Jack cheese to the top halfway through baking, and I baked at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Easy and fantastic. Will be my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
usually not a fan of cornbread. I followed the suggestion for less flour more corn flour, and more sugar. Instead of using oil since my house hold suffers high cholesterol I used unsweetened apple sauce. I also have a small gas stove that likes to fry things so I cooked it 30-40 minutes at 325. Turned out good especially drizzled with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrelgurl07

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Yum! A nice, sweet cornbread. Light. I put it in my mixer and beat it for appx 5 min based on what others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was a very easy recipe. I followed it exactly, it turned out awesome. This is the most moist cornbread i ever had. I am going to make it again right now but as muffins. I will add chives, jalapeno, and cheese. I hope it turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Baumhartner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeeJae
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Was pretty good, kinda sweet with the amount of sugar the recipe calls for. I'm used to using plain old Jiffy cornbread muffin mix, which is what I like, but when I moved I couldn't find Jiffy anywhere, so I made this recipe. It's not like the Jiffy stuff, but it's still good. I followed the recipe. Next time, I'll take other reviewer's suggestions and beat the batter longer and use a bit less sugar. I think that will help it taste more like the cornbread I'm used to. EDIT: Okay, it's been a few days since I made this recipe, and I can't stand the taste of it anymore. It was way too sweet, had a funky taste, the bread itself was thick and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States