Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by maalrif78
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
So good!! I added 2 tablespoons (or so) of honey for a bit more sweetness! My husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This really did not come out good for us at all. I followed the recipe, including the submitters tip for mixing it for 5 minutes after combining. It had a rubbery, gummy texture to it that just was not good. I did like the idea of soaking the cornmeal in the milk. I've never done that before, but now I don't know if that contributed to the bad texture. Sorry. Thank you for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
YUM! I followed others advice and switched the flour/cornmeal measurements, soaked the cornmeal in coconut milk, and added creamed corn......oh and I forgot the oil and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Always gets great reviews as a potluck. Dice up a jalapeño in it for a little spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camillelee
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
delicious and fluffy! Goes well with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camillelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect cornbread. Lovely texture and great flavor. Used egg whites instead of whole eggs, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
An excellent choice if you want a moist cornbread. We found it a little sweet but still absolutely wonderful. I made 24 individual servings in my square muffin pans and added some chopped, pickled jalapenos to the last 6. A wonderful variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Absolutely the best cornbread recipe I've tried, and I've tried many. The key to this one is to let the cornmeal soak and to really mix the batter very well before pouring it into a cast iron PSB that is oiled and hot from the oven. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Replaced the table sugar with 1/2 cup honey. Tip:use the same measuring cup as the oil. Better flavor, and moist. I also used this recipe for my waffles. I added a mashed banana and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the waffles. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Moist and sweet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States