Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Added 1 cup corn. Nice moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This cornbread recipe is one of the sweetest and most moist I have tasted. Follow the directions carefully. On my second batch I mixed the eggs into the flour, salt, and sugar before adding the cornmeal and milk. It came out kinda lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BelkinErica
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
very good - not too sweet or sense but perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Hi Patricia, thanks so much for this recipe. I have never made cornbread before and it turned out brilliantly. Made it for our extended family Christmas lunch and everyone loved it. I happen to live in Vancouver. Where in Canada does your mother-in-law who gave you the recipe live?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great tasty recipe. This is my first homemade cornbread and I made it for a crowd to go with chili and it was a huge hit. I did not have all purpose flour so I used self rising and left out the baking powder. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is exactly the recipe I have been looking for. Because I prefer the texture of my cornbread to be a little heavier than cake, I took the advice of the reviewers who suggested switching the amounts of cornmeal and all purpose flour. So I used 2 C of cornmeal and 1 1/2 flour. Baked it in a cast-iron skillet. No problems at all - Easy Peasy!! Hmm delish. I love it, and so does my family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was to use 1/2 of the sugar called for in recipe (a personal preference for less sweet cornbread). A yummy pan of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Henrikson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except for switching the flour and cornmeal measurements around due to some suggestions I saw in the reviews. I also baked it in one of my cast iron skillets. The cornbread came out nice and fluffy (I don't like super dense cornbread) and with lovely golden crispy edges. 5 stars for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
best corn bread i ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Used melted unsalted butter instead of oil, doubled the salt and borrowed the vigorous stirring from other reviews. Delicious, about to use as a stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States