Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Turned out moist & delicious! I let the cornmeal soak in the milk for a while. I also used 2 cups of cornmeal and decreased the flour. I whisked it all together and let it sit. Also I baked at 375 for 30 mins then at 400 for another 5. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was fine. I thought it was a bit bland, dry, and smelled "eggy" to me. Personally, I think the Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins from this site are much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
made this recipe to go with chill. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I sub 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Every fall, my Memom sends me a big box of local South Georgia cornmeal to use for my dressing recipes. I always have a lot left over and need to use it up, so I make cornbread. I've made this with and without the corn (my crew really doesn't do corn) and it's great either way. I've also used this recipe as a base for my cornbread dressing (leave out the sugar) and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
kickass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this exactly as written, but I used a cast iron skillet (in the oven) with some melted butter. This was the tastiest corn bread I have ever made. I have tried several recipes on this site and this is the one I'm keeping. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is my keeper cornbread recipe! It's always turned out great. When we go camping, I measure all the dry into a big ziplock bag. Then on the night I make it, pour in all the wet ingredients. All the kids get a turn squishing the bag to mix it all up. I bake it in cast iron skillet and a cast iron wedge skillet. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyMomof3
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delightfully simple to make, but really bland for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I increased the cornmeal & sugar by 1/2 cup each - positively delicious! Moist & sweet. My mom made cornbread often when I was young, and this recipe won her approval as well, which says a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States