Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is exactly the recipe I have been looking for. Because I prefer the texture of my cornbread to be a little heavier than cake, I took the advice of the reviewers who suggested switching the amounts of cornmeal and all purpose flour. So I used 2 C of cornmeal and 1 1/2 flour. Baked it in a cast-iron skillet. No problems at all - Easy Peasy!! Hmm delish. I love it, and so does my family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was to use 1/2 of the sugar called for in recipe (a personal preference for less sweet cornbread). A yummy pan of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except for switching the flour and cornmeal measurements around due to some suggestions I saw in the reviews. I also baked it in one of my cast iron skillets. The cornbread came out nice and fluffy (I don't like super dense cornbread) and with lovely golden crispy edges. 5 stars for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
best corn bread i ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Used melted unsalted butter instead of oil, doubled the salt and borrowed the vigorous stirring from other reviews. Delicious, about to use as a stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe with some modifications. First I halved the recipe and subbed heavy cream and 1/2 1/2 for the milk and used melted butter instead of oil. Used a bit more butter than called for. As one reviewer mentioned the submitter of this recipe said it is important to wisk all the ingredients for 5 minutes before pouring batter in to your dish. I did this and my shoulder was not happy with me afterwards lol. It did make for a light, fluffy and MOIST cornbread. Finally found my recipe. Thanks to all the buzzers who helped steer me in the right direction. I took tips from all of you who answered my post. I also only cooked it for 20 minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is by far the best cornbread recipe I have ever used. Even better than my moms and she was an awesome cook! It is just the perfect density, I did adjust the sugar a tad. I've been using this recipe for years. Never had the need to try any other after this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I just made this cornbread. It was fairly moist. But I thought that it could have more corn flavour. It tasted a little watery even though there is no water in it. I would make it again. I made a plain one in an 8 in. round pan and it took only 24 minutes in the oven. I used the rest of the batter in a glass loaf pan, I added bacon pieces to the batter and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese. That one was much more flavourful but took longer to bake. add about 10 minutes more to baking time. It was light and fluffy inside but the outside had a hard crust since it had to bake longer. I would suggest baking it in a cake pan so it won't be as deep as the loaf pan and won't need the longer baking time. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am from Texas where we love our cornbread and I have to say this is the BEST recipe I have ever made. I usually don't like my cornbread sweet, but this is not overly sweet and the sugar adds that little extra touch to make this recipe absolutely perfect! Thanks so much for sharing. I will never use another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States