Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Very good soup! I didn't have time to make the wontons from scratch so I followed another suggestion and bought frozen dumplings. Turned out great. The broth was particularly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
WOW! My new fav soup. I was missing two of the ingredients (shrimp and Bok Choy) but plan on making this again with those added. This soup is great for cold WI weather or I could see when your not feeling so hot. Wrapping the meat did not take that long - I learned that laying the wrapper on the cutting board and placing the meat into it DID NOT WORK. I ended up grabbing a wonton wrapper dipping each side into water and then holding it in my hand adding the meat to it - then squeezing the sides in almost a wave pattern. Took me about an hour to make. Husband was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This recipe was AMAZING! SO easy! SO GOOD! I am at best a Novice in the kitchen and this was by far one of the best new recipes I have tried! Thanks so much for the great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for wonton soup. The pork filling is really tasty. I followed the directions exactly and added some crushed red pepper for spice. Next time I will add more broth because the soup was a little crowded. I will also chop the all of the veggies into smaller pieces. I didn't think the shrimp added much to the soup so I will omit those next time. I got rave reviews from my husband who loves Chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
When I'm sick (like today) this is my go to soup. Waaaaaaay better than chicken soup for flus and colds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Made if for the second time ever when my boyfriend's parents came over for dinner. They wanted the recipe! Turns out great! I found that there was a lot of food to broth ratio, and that I was sort of cramming stuff into the soup (but it all came together great! The first time I made the soup I over boiled the wontons in the soup, also over cooked the shrimp. Still had people complimenting it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
So glad I tried this recipe! I am a soup lover, and I love wonton soup but have always been intimidated by it...figured it was too much work and that it probably called for ingredients that were hard to find/too expensive. I was so wrong! This soup was so good. Super easy to make. Tasted just like a wonton soup you would get at a good Chinese restaurant. We always have soy sauce and sesame oil in our pantry and shrimp in our freezer, so I only needed the pork and bok choy. This is a pretty inexpensive meal, and is done rather quickly. The wontons were so easy to make. Looking forward to making this again and playing with the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I did not change any ingredients in the recipe, the only thing I did differently was to boil the wontons in water before adding to chicken broth as the other reviewers suggested. The soup had a nice taste but seemed a little lacking in flavor to me, felt like it needed something to put it over the top (MSG?), the soup I buy from restaurants seems more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yukon26
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Won ton soup is a favourite of mine but this was the first time I've ever made it myself. Your recipe was absolutely delicious and was a real hit for my family. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yukon26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The filling of the wontons lacked flavor and the sesame oil just didn't go well with it. With everything added to the broth it was good. My husband loved it. I won't be using the filling recipe again. The other reviewer that mentioned to boil the wontons separately was a great idea as it did leave a lot of flower in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States