Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sonny
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
No bread crumbs or sesame oil, I cooked the wontons in water the added them to the broth when they were finished. I also added Slices of beef, chicken and ham and more shrimp. My daughter loved it. She likes broccoli so I used lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I really liked this. I always wanted to make my own because the soup from the stores are VERY salty. However, I did make one change. Instead of JUST chicken broth, I added about 2 tablespoons of MISO paste. Gave it a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe! My friends and family think I'm some kind of culinary Guru because of this recipe! I didn't put mushrooms (girlfriend hates them) and no shrimp (I'm allergic) other than that I only changed the ground pepper to course ground. I have made this five or six times and only have one piece of advise. Get help wrapping the won tons. It takes forever to do a double batch when it's just you. Again awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
LOVED this soup!! My husband and kids loved it as well. I will for sure make this soup again.. it's worth the time to make the dumplings! I did add a little more broth and used 4 cups of my homeade broth I had in the freezer. I did not add the shrimp as I made this to go with my lettuce wraps and chicken satay. I can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
We've made this recipe many times. The wontons are a bit time consuming, but it cooks up quickly after the initial hands-on portion and it is well worth the effort. I almost always replace the ground pork with sausage, and we tend to leave out the bok choy and snow peas. The wontons are excellent hot, or even as cold leftovers. I'm about to whip some up right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
One of the best recipes of any kind I've pulled off this site, and I've tried a lot of them. I couldn't get ground pork so I used ground chicken. This will be a regular on our menu. It did make a lot of wontons so I've freezing some for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have been searching for a good wonton soup that tastes similar to an authentic wonton soup you would get at the Chinese food store, AND I FOUND it!! Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!!! I did make several changes, only b/c I didn't have certain items on hand. I omitted sesame oil, snow peas & shrimp altogether, AND THIS RECIPE STILL TURNED OUT AMAZING!!! Will never buy take out wonton soup ever again. Thank you Starry Night for sharing this recipe with the world :0).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
this was delicious, I did make a few changes though, I omitted the sesame oil, added a few tsps. of worchestershire sauce to the broth, and to the filling I added a tsp. of minced ginger and about 2 tbsp. of brown sugar. (combining the recipe with another one) I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States