Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great recipe! I boiled the dumplings in water and the added to north with the bok choy, mushrooms, shrimp. Added Sriracha on top and so VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Brideau
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These turned out fantastic.. I, like other users boiled my dumplings separately. I used ground turkey instead of pork or chicken and added some cayenne spice. They were super yummy, I'll probably add more veg to my soup next time. Thanks for the recipe ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Brideau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Oh. My. This is delightful! I used ground turkey to make it healthier, and ground Ezekiel toast for the crumbs. The wontons are great alone with a little soy sauce, too! This made so many, I was happy to have the extras. I cooked the wontons in water before transferring, perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Larsen
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Oh my gosh this soup is amazing! It is time consuming but worth it. I have never made wonton soup before. The filling was so good, had a lot of flavor and a little heat to it. I will definitely make it again. I followed the recipe to a tee.. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Larsen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This really is a solid recipe. It was as my husband calls it "tasty." It had a really good flavor. The reason I took one star away was for 2 reasons: 1. the wontons were really tricky to make (I may have smaller wrappers) but 1tbs was a lot for my wrappers so I just reduced it to about 1/2 tbs. They also started to tear as I was serving the soup. I cooked them in hot water before I put them in the broth which really helped make sure the broth stayed clear. 2. Also the pea's were really good at first but when we reheated the soup they got a little slimy :P. So next time we will nix the peas. Other than those two things it was great and we will def. make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was my first time making wonton soup from scratch and it turned out fantastic! The recipe however makes A LOT ... so you can half it if you don't want a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Added 1/2 can of baby shrimp to the pork stuffing, probably not necessary. Next time, just use egg noodles and make the meat into meatballs, cook in the broth, as the wrappers mostly fell off of the meat while cooking anyway. Note to self: DO NOT DOUBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Perfect just as directed! A family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing, I have made it 3 times now and it is very forgiving, The first time I made it I made it as is, the second time I didn't have the veggies except for green onions and it was still amazing, Third time I made it I had everything but instead if the whole pound of pork I used a 1/2 pound and halved the seasons for the filling, It was amazing that way, This will be something I cook for the next 50 years for sure, thank you 100 times for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Just made this soup and it tasted great! Even my 4-year old loved it (and it was simple enough he could help). Very tasty and similar to the ones I would order at a restaurant. I added minced garlic and ginger to the pork mixture, about 1.5tsp each and omitted the shrimp (not a fan of shrimp). Added some carrots to the broth and dash of kosher salt (used low sodium broth). Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States