Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Never tried making wine before. I used fresh grapes that I was going to make jelly with. It cam out perfect. Friends said it had the "best Legs" of any homemade wine they had ever had. Going to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I loved it mt daughter told me i should do it and she was right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I didn't really know what to expect when I threw this together 8 weeks ago (I'd forgotten about it actually). All I can say is, wow, this stuff is STRONG! (and I am not a light-weight by any means when it comes to drinking, haha). I made it with a cherry/apple concentrate which, with the sugar, is a little bit too sweet. Oh well, it does the job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Although this recipe is a good one IT FAILS TO MENTION SOME VERY IMPORTANT FACTORS, which i find my be the reason to some of the reviews saying it taste horrible and such, the first thing the recipe fails to mention is that you have to poke holes into your ballon so that the carbondixocide being produced can excape yet keep air from getting in the second and most important is that the recipe ends on the note "then after 5 weeks or the ballon is not getting bigger anymore its ready to drink" WRONG!! well kinda.. it is ready to drink but with the exception it will be nasty like most reviews said.. see you need to ethier siphon the stuff out or filter it.. you dont want the dead yeast and suger on the bottom of the bottle that has settled or you will probly give it the bad review like others did.. all you want is the yeasts (aka alcohol) oh yeah alcohol is just yeast pee pee incase you didnt know hehe so enjoy ;) anyways do that and expect it to be GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1763 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is so versatile. I made three batches, 1) White Grape Peach, 2) Passionfruit, 3)Apple....I made some changes to the recipe though. I placed the ingredients in wholesale bulk-sized pickle jars and covered them with 3 layers of saran wrap secured by a rubberband. I also used wine-grade yeast instead of all purpose yeast. Great Recipe for anyone. A+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I found a recipe like this in a local newspaper...I cut the sugar back to 3 1/4 cups and my recipe is done in 21 days...I made it twice and it is really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I've never made homemade wine before, but this recipe turned out to be really awesome. I plan on making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this using white grape raspberry, white grape peach, and grape. The grape raspberry and grape peach are really good (and strong!) but the grape is by far the best. I used 6 cups of sugar and the result is a very sweet wine, which is what we like. I used yeast made especially for wine and I boiled my water and sugar to make sure all the sugar dissolved. After 5 weeks I poured through coffee filters and transferred wine to another container for a couple of weeks before bottling. This is the perfect wine to use to make Sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
746 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe with grapes from my back yard that I juiced. In one gallon jug I added some juiced blackberries in another I just put grape juice and in another I did apple juice concentrate. The grapes are done and WOW are they strong my fiance and all of his friends love it and want me to make more. I was so happy that this turned out so well. I'm makeing more with different variations. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Overall it works great.I found out why they say serve no wine before it's time.I put some in mason jars and nearly blew the lids off of them.I had waited the 6 weeks but evidently it wasn't enough.I have three gallons going now and two gallons jarred up.I jarred a concord grape which has a great kick to it and a strwberry medley that is really strong.The ones I have going are white grape/peach,another concord and an apple.It's been years since I've done this but I'm having a great time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States