Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Although this recipe is a good one IT FAILS TO MENTION SOME VERY IMPORTANT FACTORS, which i find my be the reason to some of the reviews saying it taste horrible and such, the first thing the recipe fails to mention is that you have to poke holes into your ballon so that the carbondixocide being produced can excape yet keep air from getting in the second and most important is that the recipe ends on the note "then after 5 weeks or the ballon is not getting bigger anymore its ready to drink" WRONG!! well kinda.. it is ready to drink but with the exception it will be nasty like most reviews said.. see you need to ethier siphon the stuff out or filter it.. you dont want the dead yeast and suger on the bottom of the bottle that has settled or you will probly give it the bad review like others did.. all you want is the yeasts (aka alcohol) oh yeah alcohol is just yeast pee pee incase you didnt know hehe so enjoy ;) anyways do that and expect it to be GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1727 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this using white grape raspberry, white grape peach, and grape. The grape raspberry and grape peach are really good (and strong!) but the grape is by far the best. I used 6 cups of sugar and the result is a very sweet wine, which is what we like. I used yeast made especially for wine and I boiled my water and sugar to make sure all the sugar dissolved. After 5 weeks I poured through coffee filters and transferred wine to another container for a couple of weeks before bottling. This is the perfect wine to use to make Sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
728 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
There is a reason that wineries possess expensive, specialized equipment to produce their product: making good-tasting wine is a delicate process. Needless to say, this recipes covers the essentials of the process and produces a product that does indeed suggest wine. I must make one suggestion though, dissolve most of the sugar in boiled water. At the beginning of my experience with this recipe, most of the sugar fell to the bottom and did not react as well with the yeast as when I'd boiled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I've never made homemade wine before, but this recipe turned out to be really awesome. I plan on making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This was a most exciting adventure. The wine seemed to be stronger when I used real fruit that I put through a juicer. It had a definite kick. Using the old glass gallon jugs seems to work better and give a "not so plastic" taste also. It was awesome. A wonderful New Year to come :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe works very well. My wine aged in about 4 and a half weeks. This tastes just like storebought wine except with an added kick. Very recommended recipe. I kept mine stored in an armoire at room temperature and it turned out phenominal.. yes I'm drinking it right now! A+++!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I found a recipe like this in a local newspaper...I cut the sugar back to 3 1/4 cups and my recipe is done in 21 days...I made it twice and it is really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Have to say, this sounds exactly like the recipe me and my friend made in high school. I remember it SMELLED just like wine. However she had told me that the baloon had gone all the way up and I asked her what she did and she said put the lid on the milk jug..... I knew that that was an oops! She called me that day after she got home from school and was frantic... come help me clean this up! It had exploded in her bedroom closet. What a mess. The whole house reeked of wine! (That may have been the same day her Mother found a pack of cigarettes!) Now, 23 years later I am going to try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Never tried making wine before. I used fresh grapes that I was going to make jelly with. It cam out perfect. Friends said it had the "best Legs" of any homemade wine they had ever had. Going to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I didn't really know what to expect when I threw this together 8 weeks ago (I'd forgotten about it actually). All I can say is, wow, this stuff is STRONG! (and I am not a light-weight by any means when it comes to drinking, haha). I made it with a cherry/apple concentrate which, with the sugar, is a little bit too sweet. Oh well, it does the job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States