Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Have to say, this sounds exactly like the recipe me and my friend made in high school. I remember it SMELLED just like wine. However she had told me that the baloon had gone all the way up and I asked her what she did and she said put the lid on the milk jug..... I knew that that was an oops! She called me that day after she got home from school and was frantic... come help me clean this up! It had exploded in her bedroom closet. What a mess. The whole house reeked of wine! (That may have been the same day her Mother found a pack of cigarettes!) Now, 23 years later I am going to try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I tried this recipe again, and it didnt turn out right. The latex balloon doesn't give the wine enough air to percolate, and it turns out to taste like rubbing alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I loved it mt daughter told me i should do it and she was right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
As a 20 year old college student, I thought I'd give this recipe a shot. It was really easy to make, except for the wait. I used grape frozen concentrate. I really don't know how alcoholic this is, or healthy (4 cups sugar!) but the flavor is good. I'll probably be making this on and off again for the next few months :) maybe longer, after I taste test some things from a local winery and see what I think. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Never tried making wine before. I used fresh grapes that I was going to make jelly with. It cam out perfect. Friends said it had the "best Legs" of any homemade wine they had ever had. Going to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
i made this for fun after watching one of the ideas. It didn't come out so good probably because some of the wine went into the balloon during the process of putting it on. It was really alcoholic Will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
First tasting not good. So I bought the yeast made for wine along with yeast nutrient, more grape juice, one rapberry-apple juice, one teasp. vanilla extract..added this to the bad batch and waited another month. I think this is now good enough to serve to guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I didn't really know what to expect when I threw this together 8 weeks ago (I'd forgotten about it actually). All I can say is, wow, this stuff is STRONG! (and I am not a light-weight by any means when it comes to drinking, haha). I made it with a cherry/apple concentrate which, with the sugar, is a little bit too sweet. Oh well, it does the job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My husband and I tried this as our fun little "Science project" It was kind of fun to watch it go through all the stages. We bought a huge jug and made a gigantic ammount-MISTAKE!! Well it made a great conversation piece. I never had Boone Farm or MD 20/20, but I would immagine the taste is similar. Not worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe works very well. My wine aged in about 4 and a half weeks. This tastes just like storebought wine except with an added kick. Very recommended recipe. I kept mine stored in an armoire at room temperature and it turned out phenominal.. yes I'm drinking it right now! A+++!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States