Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really dont like the balloon way. I tried it and forgot about it for about 2 weeks and the balloon had rotted off and ruined the wine. My grandfather has been making wine for many, many years and he has a pretty cool technique. he takes a plastic tube and pokes it in the lid of the milk jug and puts the other end in a glass of water. it keeps the air going out but not coming back in. The recipe itself is awsome. I made some and it turned out wonderful. My boyfriend says its a wine you can sip on all night and it creeps up on you. you dont notice it kickin your butt till its too late. The only thing that sucks about it is the after effect. My hangovers are always worse when i drink this wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I have to say this is SUCH a quick and easy wine recipe! The way I do it is to poor in 2 cups of sugar, add yeast, poor in the other 2 cups of sugar, then add the concentrate, filling the jug half way. I then lightly shake the jug to help dissolve some of the sugar. When the mix is well dissolved, I finish filling the jug. I then use the balloon and rubber band, using a needle to poke a small hole in the top of the balloon. After 5 weeks, I filter the wine, and put it in a glass jug. I put a new balloon and rubber band around the top, and put it back in the closet for 1 more week. After 1 week, I filter the wine 1 last time, put it in a new glass jug, and it's ready. I've tried grape, white, white/raspberry, apple, white peach, apple/kiwi/strawberry, apple/peach, and quite a few others. I have to say though, the apple will put you on your rear end! LOL My favorite so far is the white/raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OzarkPhotos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alpena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This recipe is super. Follow the directions just like you see them here and you'll come out with a decent blush. It may not win any awards at a tasting party but it's better than a box wine. One small suggestion. After five weeks the balloon may still be inflated, that's not a big problem. Do use a piece of tubing to siphon off the wine from the sediment in the bottom. Try not to disturb the sediment when you do that. I use two clean 2-liter pop bottles instead of a gallon jug. It's a way to reuse bottles we'd normally throw away. And the sediment packs itself down in the ridges in the bottom which makes siphoning a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used this a couple of years ago to make Strawberry wine & then strawberry/passionfruit. Both got VERY good reviews from friends/family. Common sense should tell you not to drink it without 'decanting' it from the original container. I can't imagine anyone would drink it with the 'sludge' it creates! This time, I'm going to try Mulberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Lithia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Overall it works great.I found out why they say serve no wine before it's time.I put some in mason jars and nearly blew the lids off of them.I had waited the 6 weeks but evidently it wasn't enough.I have three gallons going now and two gallons jarred up.I jarred a concord grape which has a great kick to it and a strwberry medley that is really strong.The ones I have going are white grape/peach,another concord and an apple.It's been years since I've done this but I'm having a great time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
A very good recipe for homemade wine. You might want to try "Brewer's" yeast instead of regular bread yeast though, it'll make it a bit dryer but it wont have that "yeasty" flavor. I have to agree with Newyear 498 about siphoning off of the sediment into a clean jug, and wine is one of those things that gets better with age! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
We always used a condom instead of latex balloons. Yes, I said CONDOMS! Latex balloons have a powder which can leak into the wine. Secondly, I also waited for the balloon to go up then come down at which time I knew it was ready. Please do not poke holes in the balloon, condom or whatever, as you want to keep everything as sterile as possible in order not to introduce unwanted bacteria or end up with vinegar as a result. Finally, I would suggest a trip to the winemaker or beer maker store for the right kind of yeast would also be in order. Otherwise Happy Wine Making-from a former home wine maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a good and easy reciepe just remember to strain the wine before you bottle or drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Judsonia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The first time I made this the wait time was longer than stated, I actually removed the balloon while still inflated because it had been acuple of months and was still inflated. However, after that, the wine maturd in a couple of weeks and was excellant! And packed a pretty good punch. I don't care for wine that makes you pucker, and this was very sweet and easy to sip. It didn't last long, as company also thought it was excellant wine. My only regret is that I didn't make more the first time. I am now starting my next batch and am making two galons instead of one and am tryng some new flavors (my first one was of sourse concord grape, now I am trying strawberry and white grape/raspberry). I like the fact that you use prepared juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is so versatile. I made three batches, 1) White Grape Peach, 2) Passionfruit, 3)Apple....I made some changes to the recipe though. I placed the ingredients in wholesale bulk-sized pickle jars and covered them with 3 layers of saran wrap secured by a rubberband. I also used wine-grade yeast instead of all purpose yeast. Great Recipe for anyone. A+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States