Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This works great! But the baloon will not go down on it's own. So I just filter it after six weeks. If you boil your water make sure it's cooled before adding the yeast or the warm water will "kill" the yeast. I have used wine yeast & active dry yeast. The active dry yeast works the best, it makes the alochol content higher. I like it best with an extra cup of sugar, my hubby likes it best with the amount called for. I also found that a glass jug works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Syrupy sweet and thick and way too strong alcohol (burned on the way down). We also had to wait twice as long for it to be ready. Don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
i don't know what hapend with this but my bloons went flat after 7 days what do i do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I have been experimenting with this recipe. i don't know what i am doing. i am currently brewing 4 jugs right now. i tried one after it stopped perculating, it was OK. I heard that you refrigerate the wine when it stops producing CO2. is that true. How long do you let it sit after it stops making gas and you filter it? Also, how do you bottle it and how long is it good for. I have no idea what the heck I am doing, but am willing to keep trying to get it right. Just started using wine yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I love this home made wine . I did not like the balloon way either. I used the plastic tube too. My hole family loved it .we made grap from our vine. Muskiedines have came in so we are trying blackberry/muskiedine .I know its going to be great. I rated this wine 4 because its almost their . only if we could reduce the yeast after tast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made four jugs of this, all different flavors. I think the apple was the best, but the raspberry pomogranate is good too. My purple grape wine developed large patches of mold on the surface - I will not be consuming this one. The mold did not occur on the others and I did not do anything different - no idea why that happened. I did use saran wrap on the tops of the milk jugs and poked holes in them - worked well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really dont like the balloon way. I tried it and forgot about it for about 2 weeks and the balloon had rotted off and ruined the wine. My grandfather has been making wine for many, many years and he has a pretty cool technique. he takes a plastic tube and pokes it in the lid of the milk jug and puts the other end in a glass of water. it keeps the air going out but not coming back in. The recipe itself is awsome. I made some and it turned out wonderful. My boyfriend says its a wine you can sip on all night and it creeps up on you. you dont notice it kickin your butt till its too late. The only thing that sucks about it is the after effect. My hangovers are always worse when i drink this wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I have to say this is SUCH a quick and easy wine recipe! The way I do it is to poor in 2 cups of sugar, add yeast, poor in the other 2 cups of sugar, then add the concentrate, filling the jug half way. I then lightly shake the jug to help dissolve some of the sugar. When the mix is well dissolved, I finish filling the jug. I then use the balloon and rubber band, using a needle to poke a small hole in the top of the balloon. After 5 weeks, I filter the wine, and put it in a glass jug. I put a new balloon and rubber band around the top, and put it back in the closet for 1 more week. After 1 week, I filter the wine 1 last time, put it in a new glass jug, and it's ready. I've tried grape, white, white/raspberry, apple, white peach, apple/kiwi/strawberry, apple/peach, and quite a few others. I have to say though, the apple will put you on your rear end! LOL My favorite so far is the white/raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OzarkPhotos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alpena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This recipe is super. Follow the directions just like you see them here and you'll come out with a decent blush. It may not win any awards at a tasting party but it's better than a box wine. One small suggestion. After five weeks the balloon may still be inflated, that's not a big problem. Do use a piece of tubing to siphon off the wine from the sediment in the bottom. Try not to disturb the sediment when you do that. I use two clean 2-liter pop bottles instead of a gallon jug. It's a way to reuse bottles we'd normally throw away. And the sediment packs itself down in the ridges in the bottom which makes siphoning a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used this a couple of years ago to make Strawberry wine & then strawberry/passionfruit. Both got VERY good reviews from friends/family. Common sense should tell you not to drink it without 'decanting' it from the original container. I can't imagine anyone would drink it with the 'sludge' it creates! This time, I'm going to try Mulberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Lithia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States