Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
great recipe, this is my 4th batch. one thing i learned is to dissolve the yeast in a cup of warm water before adding to the mix. dissolving the sugar as one commented and doing the same with the yeast gives a more even mixture. i move my batch after 3 weeks to a second jug leaving the sediment on the bottom, then i leave that for another 3 weeks and bam!!!!!!!!!! thanks for the recipe. i call this last one 6 week hooch.. people cant believe it was made out of frozen concentrate. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huntr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this wine for the first time exactly as stated. It turned out alright, but was a bit too bitter. I found that the reason the taste was so off, was because there was no way for the gases to escape. I have made a few small changes, that made the wine phenomenal! First, dissolve the sugar in water before it is added to the jug, and I use 2 juice concentrates instead of one, it gives more flavour. before placing your balloon on, use a small needle or sewing pin to poke a few hole in the top of the balloon. This will let the gases out, but it wont let the air in. After your wine has fermented, use a funnel and some kind of strainer (I use nylon stocking, their about a dollar at most stores) and strain the wine into wine bottles, or another gallon jug. After that, the wine is done, and tastes great! For a richer flavor though, let it sit in it's new container for about a week longer, and the wine is PERFECT! Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyWithSoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I boiled the water and then added the sugar so it dissolved comepletely. I added the yeast to the liquid when it was still slightly warm, and it was ready to drink in about 9 days. All of the yeast settled to the bottom of the gallon jug, and the wine became clear. I used the Hodgson Mill yeast (8.75g). This stuff is strong, and it creeps up on you. Before I knew it, I had drank about on third of it because it tastes so good. I was very drunk and extremely hungover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
DECENT RECIPE FOR BEGINNERS, BUT DONT GIVE UP SO EASILY! FIND A SHOP LOCALLY THAT SELLS BREWING SUPPLIES. DITCH THE BALLONS, RUBBER BANDS, PLASTIC JUGS AND BREAD YEAST. IT'LL COST @ FOUR BUCKS TO BUY A DRILLED RUBBER STOPPER, A PLASTIC AERATOR AND YEAST MADE SPECIFICALLY FOR WINE. SPEND ANOTHER FOUR BUCKS ON CAMPDEN TABLETS AND POTASSIUM SORBATE AND THEN MAKE YOUR WINE. KEEP IN MIND YOU'LL BASICALLY BE MAKING A LOW DOSE RUBBING ALCOHOL WITH A LITLLE FLAVOR. IF YOU EXPECT A $200 BOTTLE OF WINE BY SPENDING EIGHT BUCKS AND 20 MINUTES, YOU'LL HAVE MORE SUCCESS WATCHING BOB VILA ONCE AND OPENING YOUR OWN CABINET SHOP. DO A LITTLE RESEARCH, SPEND A FEW BUCKS, BE PATIENT, EXPERIMENT IN SMALL BATCHES, DRINK YOUR RESULTS AND MODIFY. WRITE EVERY SINGLE DETAIL IN A NOTEBOOK, KEEP TRACK OF YOUR STEPS AND YOUR WINE WILL IMPROVE WITH EVERY BATCH. PATIENCE AND SANITATION ARE A MUST. IF YOU PICK UP A PAINTBRUSH FOR THE FIRST TIME AND EXPECT THE MONA LISA, FIND ANOTHER HOBBY. RESEARCH, TIME AND PATIENCE WILL BE REWARDED. GOOD LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Try Apple/Raspberry concentrate! Very good recipe...tasty, simple and FUN! Not for Wine-snobs, but who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, took 4 weeks. I boiled the water, added sugar for simple syrup. I have not tasted it yet, but it smells very good (and very strong). I'd like to cut the alcohol content a bit. I strained manually through my coffee pot 3 times, each time using 2 brown paper filters. Would love to use this in the homemade wine cooler recipe that I found on this site! I started some apple last night.. Can't wait to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
too much sugar 2 cups per gallon is all the sugar you want counting the sugar that is already in the juice to start with you never add extra sugar to begin with to sweeten or gain alchohol content in wine back sweetning is done after the wine is finished and ready to bottle adding too much sugar to start with kills off the yeast also and stops it from fermenting anyway lightly modified you can make a decent cheap wine from this recipe ty for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I used a fresh watermelon and 5 cups of sugar. Whoa, very potent and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is about the recipe that I use But as a note DO NOT USE PULPY FRUIT it looks nasty and is a pain to filter, also if you can get some real wine yeast I live in a place where drinking is everywhere and a fith of a sililar recipe knocked me on my on the way to b dub's worst part is my teacher was there lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Excellent i have been brewing with this recipe for a year.My wife and family loves it.for good supplies go to www.homebrewit.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States