Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this from grape juice using the amount of yeast called for, and after 6 weeks it was still very yeasty in smell and flavor. After a few more weeks it had mellowed and is very tasty now, though extremely potent. I did 2 more batches using apple juice, 1 cup sugar, and 1 tsp of yeast for a 96 ounce jug of juice. I am trying it for the first time after 6 weeks, and it is really very good. A little dry,barely sweet, and a beautiful color. Not quite as potent as the grape but I prefer that. Thanks for the recipe! I am having such fun playing with this, and it will make nice Christmas gifts. If I have any left by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamratoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
i went with the plastic tube out of the top of the jug to a glass of water. Since I didn't use a balloon, how do I know when its ready? Maybe when it quits pushing air into the glass of water??? thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBERTANDJOSE
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBERTANDJOSE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This sounds similar to my recipe. My recipe calls for 3 cans of juice instead of 1, everything else is the same. It's pretty potent so i mix up two additional cans of juice (1 can juice 3 cans water) and cut the wine after fermentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
it sounds nice but can you pleas give me the ingrediants in liter, and what about the kind of yeast, can i use yeast pills. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great intro recipe for starters into brewing your own wine at home! Some additional tips because there are some things that you arent told: 1. Use more cans of concentrate and less sugar for a stronger flavored wine (3 cans and 1/2 cup sugar or 2 cans and 2 1/2 cups of sugar) 2. Siphon off after 2 weeks of starting to get the wine on the lees (dead yeast) so the wine wont taste as funky...if you leave it on the dead yeast for 5 weeks it will be super musty-flavored 3. Use Hawaiin punch jug and drill hole in top and hot glue a 1/4" tube from Lowes (about 2ft is 20 cents) and run tube to a jar/bottle of water. Keep submerged in water so air cant spoil wine and you dont have to worry about rubber balloon taste, etc.. 4. a 5 gram packet of wine yeast makes 5 gallons. Im trying a batch right now just using 1 gram of yeast per gallon. See next step of how to prep yeast to ensure survival. Using 1 gram should cut musty bread flavor of wine, even if using bread yeast. (packets of bread yeast are usually 7 grams) 5. Prep yeast by rehydrating and feeding. Put amount of yeast in lukewarm water and let it rehydrate and foam then feed it a teaspoon or 2 of sugar so it can begin multiplying the yeast count and start on its job. Then add it to the wine mixture of juice and sugar Hope this helps the newcomers a bit more! Thanks for the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I make five gallons at a time. Good stuff. I've heard you should add potassium sorbate at the end of 30 days to stop fermentation so it is more drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
A fairly easy recipe with pleasing results. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, this can be used in cooking recipes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Okay, I just made this for the first time. It aged for 5 weeks. It is really good, beautiful color, but a little cloudy. I am drinking some now, it is really strong. I'm from Louisiana where drinking starts young, and trust me, this stuff is strong! I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is a super easy way to get into home brewing. I have made beer for years and this was the first attempt at wine making. First things first you definatley want to pour the wine into a container and get rid of the gunk at the bottom. In addition I make 5 gallon batches, when im done i like to mix in another frozen mix to sweeten it up. I also add potassium sorbet to keep it from fermenting, which is available at any home brew store or home brew online store. Again this does not taste great but it does the job for me and my college friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabbore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States