Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
so i made the recipe just like it said but i didnt poke a hole in the balloon? My balloon is still big and its been 3 months! (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Textbook recipe.Experiment to make a wine you like achohol can be adjusted by the amount of sugar used (use powdered sugar it will stay dissolved)-old bootlegger trick.Remember alcohol will kill the yeast when level gets high enough that's why balloon stops expanding.To turn this into a brandy, marsalla,sherry, port or other fortified wines simply add alchohol about 3/4 of the way through the fermentation process. This will kill the yeast before they consume all the sugar leaving a sweet "brandy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
During the last year I have made this recipe over and over, using both 100% frozen or 100% bottled juices. I always have great strong wine in the end, and no two batches exactly the same. This wine is not for the weak or meek palate, it is strong! When aged much longer than the recipe states it can be used as a table wine. The pure grape tends to be the strongest and needs to age far longer than the others. I only use 3-1/2 cups sugar instead of 4 cups. In a saucepan I make a simple syrup by boiling approx. 2 cups water and 3-1/2 cups sugar until dissolved. This retards the growth of bacteria and makes the yeast work extremely well (fermentation). After the syrup is some what cooled pour it into the sterile glass jug using a sterile funnel. DO NOT ADD the yeast now, wait until the gallon and its contents are back to room temperature or the yeast itself will die and not ferment. The longer the wine sits/rests the better the taste. Forget about it!!! Salute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this from grape juice using the amount of yeast called for, and after 6 weeks it was still very yeasty in smell and flavor. After a few more weeks it had mellowed and is very tasty now, though extremely potent. I did 2 more batches using apple juice, 1 cup sugar, and 1 tsp of yeast for a 96 ounce jug of juice. I am trying it for the first time after 6 weeks, and it is really very good. A little dry,barely sweet, and a beautiful color. Not quite as potent as the grape but I prefer that. Thanks for the recipe! I am having such fun playing with this, and it will make nice Christmas gifts. If I have any left by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamratoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
i went with the plastic tube out of the top of the jug to a glass of water. Since I didn't use a balloon, how do I know when its ready? Maybe when it quits pushing air into the glass of water??? thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBERTANDJOSE
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBERTANDJOSE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This sounds similar to my recipe. My recipe calls for 3 cans of juice instead of 1, everything else is the same. It's pretty potent so i mix up two additional cans of juice (1 can juice 3 cans water) and cut the wine after fermentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
it sounds nice but can you pleas give me the ingrediants in liter, and what about the kind of yeast, can i use yeast pills. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great intro recipe for starters into brewing your own wine at home! Some additional tips because there are some things that you arent told: 1. Use more cans of concentrate and less sugar for a stronger flavored wine (3 cans and 1/2 cup sugar or 2 cans and 2 1/2 cups of sugar) 2. Siphon off after 2 weeks of starting to get the wine on the lees (dead yeast) so the wine wont taste as funky...if you leave it on the dead yeast for 5 weeks it will be super musty-flavored 3. Use Hawaiin punch jug and drill hole in top and hot glue a 1/4" tube from Lowes (about 2ft is 20 cents) and run tube to a jar/bottle of water. Keep submerged in water so air cant spoil wine and you dont have to worry about rubber balloon taste, etc.. 4. a 5 gram packet of wine yeast makes 5 gallons. Im trying a batch right now just using 1 gram of yeast per gallon. See next step of how to prep yeast to ensure survival. Using 1 gram should cut musty bread flavor of wine, even if using bread yeast. (packets of bread yeast are usually 7 grams) 5. Prep yeast by rehydrating and feeding. Put amount of yeast in lukewarm water and let it rehydrate and foam then feed it a teaspoon or 2 of sugar so it can begin multiplying the yeast count and start on its job. Then add it to the wine mixture of juice and sugar Hope this helps the newcomers a bit more! Thanks for the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I make five gallons at a time. Good stuff. I've heard you should add potassium sorbate at the end of 30 days to stop fermentation so it is more drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States