Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I think this wine is gonna be a great wine and good tasteing. I Rate it 5 stars .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hareron
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used the Welch's white grape juice concentrate. At first I thought it tasted cheap but after two weeks in the bottle the taste is comparable to mid range chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hareron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Purdys, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I thought this recipe was actually good. Instead of a balloon I used a recieving blanket to cover my jugs and after a week the wine was delicious. Going to let it sit for a few more weeks tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I'm new to wine making. The first two 1-gallon batches I made were fresh strawberry and mango. Both of them came out perfectly. Then I tried this recipe to the exact. I used this formula to make four 1-gallon batches, two Welch white grapes and two Welch red grapes. Three came out perfect and one is a bit slow. I just bottled them today and they looked fantastic. They taste very good and strong too. I used RedStar montrachet yeast. I started a new 5-gallon batch with 10 cans of Welch red grape juice with RedStar champagne yeast this time. It's been a week now. Will see if it's going to taste stronger. The starting SG is a bit higher (1.126). The one gallon batches I started out using the milk jug with air-locks though. I didn't use the balloons. After 4 weeks, I racked them into 1 gallon carboy. I used sparkaloid to clear the wines. They taste just as perfect without using the agent but I just want to make them clear to look nice in the bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I don't drink. But I decided to make some of my own wine for my 21st birthday. I did white grape, and apple raspberry. The white grape came out wonderful! Nice and sweet and the perfect amount of bubbles. I let my family try it and they accused me of buying bottled wine and sneaking it into my containers! I did read the other reviews and siphoned and filtered off the 'bottom of the barrel' crappy stuff. The result was a very strong, albeit good tasting wine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This wine recipe is awesome!!! I made wine back in the fall, made it exactly like the recipe. It worked wonderfully, I liked the white wine the best. I used Welches white grape juice, it was my fav. This time I am going to take advice from the reviews and use some real fruit by using my juicer, then added it to the bottles. Cheap and cool way to bring wine to a party!! People will be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I LOVE this ultra homemade wine recipe! I used a feild berry juice, and let it sit maybe a month and a half, the bubbles weren't completely done bubbling, but I was impatient so I poured the wine off the sediment as carefully as I could and re bottled it. Unable to let it mellow further, I've been drinking it the couple weeks since! It's a wee bit harsh, and feels stronger, no complaints from me! Great with mulling spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spartacus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
so i made the recipe just like it said but i didnt poke a hole in the balloon? My balloon is still big and its been 3 months! (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Textbook recipe.Experiment to make a wine you like achohol can be adjusted by the amount of sugar used (use powdered sugar it will stay dissolved)-old bootlegger trick.Remember alcohol will kill the yeast when level gets high enough that's why balloon stops expanding.To turn this into a brandy, marsalla,sherry, port or other fortified wines simply add alchohol about 3/4 of the way through the fermentation process. This will kill the yeast before they consume all the sugar leaving a sweet "brandy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
During the last year I have made this recipe over and over, using both 100% frozen or 100% bottled juices. I always have great strong wine in the end, and no two batches exactly the same. This wine is not for the weak or meek palate, it is strong! When aged much longer than the recipe states it can be used as a table wine. The pure grape tends to be the strongest and needs to age far longer than the others. I only use 3-1/2 cups sugar instead of 4 cups. In a saucepan I make a simple syrup by boiling approx. 2 cups water and 3-1/2 cups sugar until dissolved. This retards the growth of bacteria and makes the yeast work extremely well (fermentation). After the syrup is some what cooled pour it into the sterile glass jug using a sterile funnel. DO NOT ADD the yeast now, wait until the gallon and its contents are back to room temperature or the yeast itself will die and not ferment. The longer the wine sits/rests the better the taste. Forget about it!!! Salute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States