Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I'm giving this five stars based on its simplicity and affordability. I've done both fruit and concentrate wines (made this twice now) and when I'm lacking the additives and/or fruit (and don't particularly feel like spending a bundle) this is the way to go. Listen to the reviews though: DO use wine yeast, DO put a tiny pinprick in the balloon (or condom, whichever you prefer), and DO make sure to siphon the wine and filter if you want to waste the least amount possible :) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
For such a simple recipe, I am wonderfully impressed with the results! I will be making this again, for sure! I used frozen apple cider. I also used only 3 cups of sugar, dissolved in boiled water. It's still quite sweet, and it's quite strong...somewhat like a dessert wine, not quite as sweet. I did wait the six weeks, and it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
good basic wine recipe except for the amount of sugar. It is excessive. I would use a maximum of 3 cups in the future for better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stevenlb
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I used this recipe and ordered a professional grade cork and airlock from midwest supplies ($1.85+SH). After fermentation, the resulting liquid was very strong with a yeasty aftertaste. I mixed the wine with one can of like Welches white grape juice concentrate and it was more than drinkable. Very high alcohol content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevenlb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The recipe is excellent! the calculator for different quantities does not work properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Helpful maybe?, I am not an expert and it has been some time since I did this: Wash the balloon. When the balloon deflates the wine has stopped working and added time may screw the flavor and maybe turn to vinegar, earlier may taste yeasty. [actually the higher alcohol content kills the fungus making the alcohol, no longer giving off gas and the balloon goes down] Most rubber balloons have very small holes and will deflate over a short time, good ones may take a long time, so pricking small holes resolves this or your wine will sit too a long time with a big balloon and not working, but spoiling. You just need to know when it stops working, that is the purpose of the balloon idea. Timing is quite important, and sealing it in another clean bottle or refrigerating it after it is ready keeps it longer. If you do not clean and sterilize your jug you may get contaminates that may give it a bad flavor or affect the working process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I think this wine is gonna be a great wine and good tasteing. I Rate it 5 stars .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hareron
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used the Welch's white grape juice concentrate. At first I thought it tasted cheap but after two weeks in the bottle the taste is comparable to mid range chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hareron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Purdys, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I thought this recipe was actually good. Instead of a balloon I used a recieving blanket to cover my jugs and after a week the wine was delicious. Going to let it sit for a few more weeks tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I'm new to wine making. The first two 1-gallon batches I made were fresh strawberry and mango. Both of them came out perfectly. Then I tried this recipe to the exact. I used this formula to make four 1-gallon batches, two Welch white grapes and two Welch red grapes. Three came out perfect and one is a bit slow. I just bottled them today and they looked fantastic. They taste very good and strong too. I used RedStar montrachet yeast. I started a new 5-gallon batch with 10 cans of Welch red grape juice with RedStar champagne yeast this time. It's been a week now. Will see if it's going to taste stronger. The starting SG is a bit higher (1.126). The one gallon batches I started out using the milk jug with air-locks though. I didn't use the balloons. After 4 weeks, I racked them into 1 gallon carboy. I used sparkaloid to clear the wines. They taste just as perfect without using the agent but I just want to make them clear to look nice in the bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States