Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe just as it is shown,I used apple/peach and it came out a bit dryer than I like but back sweetened very well. I did not use a balloon, I used a proper air lock and plug that I got for $3.00. I live in a warm climate so it only took 10 days to ferment and stop bubbling through the air lock, I also got some Potassium Sorbate to prevent re-fermentation and added that before I bottled it. I put it in water bottles and from one gallon I got two 1 liter and three 1/2 liter bottles filed with another half of a 1/2 liter bottle left over. That is what I have sampled. It is still cloudy but tastes pretty good and it is very strong. I am going to let it stand for a few weeks and see if it clears up, if not I will add a clairifer in the next batch which I will be starting in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This wasn't bad but, if I left a little of the sugar out, would it be more "dry"? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this. Let it sit five weeks. Tried it. V I N E G A R!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this and followed the recipe exactly using red grape juice concentrate. After about 2 weeks my balloon popped because i used a medium sized instead of a large. I thought it was ruined but i put another balloon on and poked a few holes in it this time and after 3 more weeks i siphoned it into another jug and sampled it and it was not as strong as i had anticipated but was very good and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
forgot the heating it up in a pot part. best to use a piece on cloth not a balloon hell a piece of toilet paper and a rubber band would work tissue something besides a balloon and like all whine the more it ages the stronger it is it kinda never stops working. use some charcoal and a coffee filter to filter it.[charcoal is opptional better taste if used] if u do use a balloon Clean it out and poke 1 or 2 hole in it don't want the latex stuff in the balloon in ur whine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is the first time I tried this. How do iget the cloudyness out. I thought by straining it three times it would do the trick but it did not...... Please help!!! It has good flavor though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Vespa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
ive found that 2 glasses of grape will get u drunk but its not strong enough for me so try less sugar also poke one pin hole in balloon also do not use rising yeast it give u a worce hangover also try glass jugs and only 3 cups of sugar it will nock u on your rump of corce for a city slicker the origanal recipe will do the trick p.s. I mix min with some crapie store bought liquor for a huge kick I give a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this is the first attempt at wine. EVER. i used the balloon method. however i tried to reformulate the recipe to a 1qt batch. combined 1-12oz frozen apple concentrate, about 3/4 of a .25oz pak of dry actv. yeast. and 2ish cups of sugar. poured into 1qt(40oz beer bottle) and filled remainder with warm water. (not knowing about the pin-hole trick for venting). based on the 4-6wk per gal. time table i allowed only 5 days of fermentation.very cloudy. strained the qt. off through coffee filter and began experimental drinking. first taste dry and bitter with very mild sweetness and a balloony aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It might be "drinkable" after 6 weeks, but as an experienced mead maker, Newyear498is 100% right. you need to allow the fermentation byproducts to escape. I'm an environmental engineer and know a bit of chemistry. If you dont allow the CO2 to escape and filter out the yeast waste, it will take much longer for the brew to mellow to a palatable flavor. Don't confuse this with wine made with a vacuum sealed, temp controlled container. It is a bargain basement price recipe. keep that in mind with your comments. However, it will work quit well if you are patient. *BTW: Ive made mead using this exact method, and it took nearly 6 months, so... BE PATIENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is great if you're ok with Carlos Rossi grade wine. The first question I had when I saw the recipe was, "how sweet is it?" Because I prefer dry over sweet, I cut the sugar down to less than 2 cups. MISTAKE. It tasted alcoholic (great) but unpalatable (not so great). After fermentation, I added sugar to taste, and it's fine now. My process was such: Sanitize all equipment with hot water and dish soap, rinsing thoroughly. I used a ballon, active dry yeast, and welches grape concentrate. I let the yest sit in warm water to dissolve, and put the sugar in warm water to make a syrup. I mixed all ingredients togetherm sealed it with a balloon, gave it a few holes to let the gasses escape, and after 5 days, the balloon deflated. I filtered it with a funnel and coffee filters once and now I have a Carlos Rassi tasting sweet wine, which is chilling in my fridge. Like i said, this is ok if you like cheap, sweet wines that will get you drunk fast. I'll make more and experiment with white grape. I want something that will be less sweet but still palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States