Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Dennis Edward Strausser
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Okay, ah. Do some research people. The dead yeast at the bottom... yeah, that collects up no matter if you make one gallon, or a whole barrel of wine. You'll always have to worry about some of that. Now if you place a tap just above the bottom, then you could probably strain all the top stuff out. And then just dump the dead yeast. I just pour it into another container, until it appears like too much of that stuff might get into it, and then dump the little bit left on the bottom. It'll probably get a little better over time, to then place a normal lid on your container. I found sometimes, Apple ferments faster. And will actually get stronger over a shorter period of time. It is almost too sweet, but I like it. It lists leaving it sit for 6 weeks, but it's not bad to drink it after only 4. You want to ferment it for 4 to 6 weeks, and then refrigerate it if you can. I found it to be an easy recipe, so have fun. A heads up though, it doesn't need to be kept too cool, or you'll stop the fermentation process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe just as it is shown,I used apple/peach and it came out a bit dryer than I like but back sweetened very well. I did not use a balloon, I used a proper air lock and plug that I got for $3.00. I live in a warm climate so it only took 10 days to ferment and stop bubbling through the air lock, I also got some Potassium Sorbate to prevent re-fermentation and added that before I bottled it. I put it in water bottles and from one gallon I got two 1 liter and three 1/2 liter bottles filed with another half of a 1/2 liter bottle left over. That is what I have sampled. It is still cloudy but tastes pretty good and it is very strong. I am going to let it stand for a few weeks and see if it clears up, if not I will add a clairifer in the next batch which I will be starting in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This wasn't bad but, if I left a little of the sugar out, would it be more "dry"? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this. Let it sit five weeks. Tried it. V I N E G A R!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this and followed the recipe exactly using red grape juice concentrate. After about 2 weeks my balloon popped because i used a medium sized instead of a large. I thought it was ruined but i put another balloon on and poked a few holes in it this time and after 3 more weeks i siphoned it into another jug and sampled it and it was not as strong as i had anticipated but was very good and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
forgot the heating it up in a pot part. best to use a piece on cloth not a balloon hell a piece of toilet paper and a rubber band would work tissue something besides a balloon and like all whine the more it ages the stronger it is it kinda never stops working. use some charcoal and a coffee filter to filter it.[charcoal is opptional better taste if used] if u do use a balloon Clean it out and poke 1 or 2 hole in it don't want the latex stuff in the balloon in ur whine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is the first time I tried this. How do iget the cloudyness out. I thought by straining it three times it would do the trick but it did not...... Please help!!! It has good flavor though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Vespa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
ive found that 2 glasses of grape will get u drunk but its not strong enough for me so try less sugar also poke one pin hole in balloon also do not use rising yeast it give u a worce hangover also try glass jugs and only 3 cups of sugar it will nock u on your rump of corce for a city slicker the origanal recipe will do the trick p.s. I mix min with some crapie store bought liquor for a huge kick I give a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this is the first attempt at wine. EVER. i used the balloon method. however i tried to reformulate the recipe to a 1qt batch. combined 1-12oz frozen apple concentrate, about 3/4 of a .25oz pak of dry actv. yeast. and 2ish cups of sugar. poured into 1qt(40oz beer bottle) and filled remainder with warm water. (not knowing about the pin-hole trick for venting). based on the 4-6wk per gal. time table i allowed only 5 days of fermentation.very cloudy. strained the qt. off through coffee filter and began experimental drinking. first taste dry and bitter with very mild sweetness and a balloony aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It might be "drinkable" after 6 weeks, but as an experienced mead maker, Newyear498is 100% right. you need to allow the fermentation byproducts to escape. I'm an environmental engineer and know a bit of chemistry. If you dont allow the CO2 to escape and filter out the yeast waste, it will take much longer for the brew to mellow to a palatable flavor. Don't confuse this with wine made with a vacuum sealed, temp controlled container. It is a bargain basement price recipe. keep that in mind with your comments. However, it will work quit well if you are patient. *BTW: Ive made mead using this exact method, and it took nearly 6 months, so... BE PATIENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States