Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
ive found that 2 glasses of grape will get u drunk but its not strong enough for me so try less sugar also poke one pin hole in balloon also do not use rising yeast it give u a worce hangover also try glass jugs and only 3 cups of sugar it will nock u on your rump of corce for a city slicker the origanal recipe will do the trick p.s. I mix min with some crapie store bought liquor for a huge kick I give a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this is the first attempt at wine. EVER. i used the balloon method. however i tried to reformulate the recipe to a 1qt batch. combined 1-12oz frozen apple concentrate, about 3/4 of a .25oz pak of dry actv. yeast. and 2ish cups of sugar. poured into 1qt(40oz beer bottle) and filled remainder with warm water. (not knowing about the pin-hole trick for venting). based on the 4-6wk per gal. time table i allowed only 5 days of fermentation.very cloudy. strained the qt. off through coffee filter and began experimental drinking. first taste dry and bitter with very mild sweetness and a balloony aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It might be "drinkable" after 6 weeks, but as an experienced mead maker, Newyear498is 100% right. you need to allow the fermentation byproducts to escape. I'm an environmental engineer and know a bit of chemistry. If you dont allow the CO2 to escape and filter out the yeast waste, it will take much longer for the brew to mellow to a palatable flavor. Don't confuse this with wine made with a vacuum sealed, temp controlled container. It is a bargain basement price recipe. keep that in mind with your comments. However, it will work quit well if you are patient. *BTW: Ive made mead using this exact method, and it took nearly 6 months, so... BE PATIENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is great if you're ok with Carlos Rossi grade wine. The first question I had when I saw the recipe was, "how sweet is it?" Because I prefer dry over sweet, I cut the sugar down to less than 2 cups. MISTAKE. It tasted alcoholic (great) but unpalatable (not so great). After fermentation, I added sugar to taste, and it's fine now. My process was such: Sanitize all equipment with hot water and dish soap, rinsing thoroughly. I used a ballon, active dry yeast, and welches grape concentrate. I let the yest sit in warm water to dissolve, and put the sugar in warm water to make a syrup. I mixed all ingredients togetherm sealed it with a balloon, gave it a few holes to let the gasses escape, and after 5 days, the balloon deflated. I filtered it with a funnel and coffee filters once and now I have a Carlos Rassi tasting sweet wine, which is chilling in my fridge. Like i said, this is ok if you like cheap, sweet wines that will get you drunk fast. I'll make more and experiment with white grape. I want something that will be less sweet but still palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Easy to assemble. I did dissolve the sugar in water ans poked a few holes in the balloon. I made two gallons. One red and one white. Can't wait to see how it turns out. Follow the good advice on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i found this recipe and another that seemed good and made them both..this recipe made some God-awful tasting wine, but it did have a kick too it and made this monk blissfully drunk....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drunk Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Good recipe for a good, quick wine. Just bottled up an apple wine that I let ferment for about 5 weeks. I went with a bubbler method and did a couple of rackings (filterings) before bottling and it came out well. Did not do a before/after hydrometer so I don't know the alcohol content but it tasted pretty strong. Now, I'm no vintner so I bottled it like I usually do...in a Mason Jar. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbethhope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I'm giving this five stars based on its simplicity and affordability. I've done both fruit and concentrate wines (made this twice now) and when I'm lacking the additives and/or fruit (and don't particularly feel like spending a bundle) this is the way to go. Listen to the reviews though: DO use wine yeast, DO put a tiny pinprick in the balloon (or condom, whichever you prefer), and DO make sure to siphon the wine and filter if you want to waste the least amount possible :) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
For such a simple recipe, I am wonderfully impressed with the results! I will be making this again, for sure! I used frozen apple cider. I also used only 3 cups of sugar, dissolved in boiled water. It's still quite sweet, and it's quite strong...somewhat like a dessert wine, not quite as sweet. I did wait the six weeks, and it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
good basic wine recipe except for the amount of sugar. It is excessive. I would use a maximum of 3 cups in the future for better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States