Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe just as it is shown,I used apple/peach and it came out a bit dryer than I like but back sweetened very well. I did not use a balloon, I used a proper air lock and plug that I got for $3.00. I live in a warm climate so it only took 10 days to ferment and stop bubbling through the air lock, I also got some Potassium Sorbate to prevent re-fermentation and added that before I bottled it. I put it in water bottles and from one gallon I got two 1 liter and three 1/2 liter bottles filed with another half of a 1/2 liter bottle left over. That is what I have sampled. It is still cloudy but tastes pretty good and it is very strong. I am going to let it stand for a few weeks and see if it clears up, if not I will add a clairifer in the next batch which I will be starting in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This wasn't bad but, if I left a little of the sugar out, would it be more "dry"? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this. Let it sit five weeks. Tried it. V I N E G A R!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this and followed the recipe exactly using red grape juice concentrate. After about 2 weeks my balloon popped because i used a medium sized instead of a large. I thought it was ruined but i put another balloon on and poked a few holes in it this time and after 3 more weeks i siphoned it into another jug and sampled it and it was not as strong as i had anticipated but was very good and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
forgot the heating it up in a pot part. best to use a piece on cloth not a balloon hell a piece of toilet paper and a rubber band would work tissue something besides a balloon and like all whine the more it ages the stronger it is it kinda never stops working. use some charcoal and a coffee filter to filter it.[charcoal is opptional better taste if used] if u do use a balloon Clean it out and poke 1 or 2 hole in it don't want the latex stuff in the balloon in ur whine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is the first time I tried this. How do iget the cloudyness out. I thought by straining it three times it would do the trick but it did not...... Please help!!! It has good flavor though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Vespa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
ive found that 2 glasses of grape will get u drunk but its not strong enough for me so try less sugar also poke one pin hole in balloon also do not use rising yeast it give u a worce hangover also try glass jugs and only 3 cups of sugar it will nock u on your rump of corce for a city slicker the origanal recipe will do the trick p.s. I mix min with some crapie store bought liquor for a huge kick I give a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this is the first attempt at wine. EVER. i used the balloon method. however i tried to reformulate the recipe to a 1qt batch. combined 1-12oz frozen apple concentrate, about 3/4 of a .25oz pak of dry actv. yeast. and 2ish cups of sugar. poured into 1qt(40oz beer bottle) and filled remainder with warm water. (not knowing about the pin-hole trick for venting). based on the 4-6wk per gal. time table i allowed only 5 days of fermentation.very cloudy. strained the qt. off through coffee filter and began experimental drinking. first taste dry and bitter with very mild sweetness and a balloony aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It might be "drinkable" after 6 weeks, but as an experienced mead maker, Newyear498is 100% right. you need to allow the fermentation byproducts to escape. I'm an environmental engineer and know a bit of chemistry. If you dont allow the CO2 to escape and filter out the yeast waste, it will take much longer for the brew to mellow to a palatable flavor. Don't confuse this with wine made with a vacuum sealed, temp controlled container. It is a bargain basement price recipe. keep that in mind with your comments. However, it will work quit well if you are patient. *BTW: Ive made mead using this exact method, and it took nearly 6 months, so... BE PATIENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is great if you're ok with Carlos Rossi grade wine. The first question I had when I saw the recipe was, "how sweet is it?" Because I prefer dry over sweet, I cut the sugar down to less than 2 cups. MISTAKE. It tasted alcoholic (great) but unpalatable (not so great). After fermentation, I added sugar to taste, and it's fine now. My process was such: Sanitize all equipment with hot water and dish soap, rinsing thoroughly. I used a ballon, active dry yeast, and welches grape concentrate. I let the yest sit in warm water to dissolve, and put the sugar in warm water to make a syrup. I mixed all ingredients togetherm sealed it with a balloon, gave it a few holes to let the gasses escape, and after 5 days, the balloon deflated. I filtered it with a funnel and coffee filters once and now I have a Carlos Rassi tasting sweet wine, which is chilling in my fridge. Like i said, this is ok if you like cheap, sweet wines that will get you drunk fast. I'll make more and experiment with white grape. I want something that will be less sweet but still palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States