Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The balloons deflated, after 2 weeks. I did put holes in them. I tried one, with cherry juice and one guava. The cherry came out strong, and really dry. I am wondering how to make it sweeter? I am scared to try the guava, it smelled a little funny at first so Im not sure of its spoiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I tried this recipe two years ago, and found it again today! The wine I made two years ago was fantastic; just sweet enough and a great mix of flavors. I did, however, realize that one has to filter the drink before bottling it! I used merlot grapes, concentrated cranberry/apple drink; it had a wonderful full bodied flavor, mild to the taste and made me crave "more, please"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Chiffano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have recently made my first batch. I used apple cherry concentrate and dry yeast I racked the wine every 7 days. On day 21 I put it in the refrigerator. It wasn't producing any more bubbles. I didn't have a hydrometer when I started it but I checked it at day 14 and day 21 it had droped 14 my wine is very sweet. I let it sit int the refrigerator for a week. Noth else settled out. My wife asked me to cut it due to how strong it is. My second batch is brewing it is apple pamagranit and it has droped 17 the first week. It already taste very good. I can't wait for it to be done. By the way my wife said it taste like a 12 dollar glass of wine she had when we went out for her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I tried a slightly different version I made 2 gallons 15 lbs fresh cranberrys Juiced That much cranberrys and it only makes 1/2 gallon of pure juice the rest just water and 5 cups sugar should have used more I used dry active yeast It went off too fast in 2 days it seemed done Low alcohol probly should have used wine yeast Dry active yeast might not make higher alcohol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jow Berkey Jr
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made a 7 gallon bucket. 12 cans (144oz) apple juice concentrate, 4lbs (8 cups) sugar and 5 grams wine yeast and water. Bring all ingredients except yeast to almost boiling (stirring so u dont burn the sugar), let cool to room temp or close, activate yeast by adding it to 100°ish water with a pinch of sugar, dump it all in the bucket and seal the lid and airlock (or hose running from the lid of bucket to a jar of water) store at room temp. When it stops bubbling siphon and filter. This was my grandpas recipe and i have given it to many ppl and it turns out good everytime so i know anyone can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jow Berkey Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
First time I tried this recipe I didn't know to puncture the balloon. I checked it after a few days and found the ballon had burst. I thought it might spoil, but I washed out another balloon, put it on and put a small hole it. After about 5 weeks I strained it through a coffee filter although it was still slowly working. I sterilized one quart canning jars in a boiling water bath and put the wine in them after they cooled, with rings and lids hand-tight, and then put them in the refrigerator. After 2 weeks in the refrigerator I saw that the jars had clear wine but a layer of sediment was stuck on the bottom of the jars. Upon tasting, it was very good, medium sweet, alcohol content percentage not known, but evident and appropriate. Everyone I gave it to, liked it. The next time, I made two 1 gallon batches, punctured each ballon and took it off after exactly 35 days, processed it the same way, but after 3 weeks of settling in refrigerator, I rebottled in clean sterile 1 quart jars so no sediment was on the bottoms of the jars. I gave most of it away, and everyone was most appreciative. Then I bought bung stoppers with "s" airlocks and a hydrometer. On the next batch I took before fermentation readings for potential alcohol, and measured the temperature for correction. Also I dissolved the sugar in water prior to adding yeast. I will take it off in a few more days and check after fermentation readings for alcohol % on it. Next time I may try 2 cans of 100% Welch's juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Bunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
As a first-timer, I had a really fun, easy experience making this! Of course, it doesn't taste like store-bought wine, but more like a fruity cocktail - still something I would let others try just for fun. As many have done already, I would add the following tips: 1. boil the sugar in with the water beforehand 2. in fact, it's probably a good idea to reduce the amount of sugar 3. poke holes in your balloon to allow air to escape 4. for me, this recipe seems to have taken less than 6 weeks, but I waited 6 weeks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I just made mine & wished I would have read the comments 1st. Warm your water & dissolve the sugar in the water before u pour it into the jug. If not the sugar goes to the bottom & get rick hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
i tried a similar recipe but it didnt say anything about waiting until the balloon deflates again. it just says after 21 days to bottle it. but there is a residue of some sort above the wine where the empty space is. Do i just remove that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowergirl
Living In: Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dennis Edward Strausser
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Okay, ah. Do some research people. The dead yeast at the bottom... yeah, that collects up no matter if you make one gallon, or a whole barrel of wine. You'll always have to worry about some of that. Now if you place a tap just above the bottom, then you could probably strain all the top stuff out. And then just dump the dead yeast. I just pour it into another container, until it appears like too much of that stuff might get into it, and then dump the little bit left on the bottom. It'll probably get a little better over time, to then place a normal lid on your container. I found sometimes, Apple ferments faster. And will actually get stronger over a shorter period of time. It is almost too sweet, but I like it. It lists leaving it sit for 6 weeks, but it's not bad to drink it after only 4. You want to ferment it for 4 to 6 weeks, and then refrigerate it if you can. I found it to be an easy recipe, so have fun. A heads up though, it doesn't need to be kept too cool, or you'll stop the fermentation process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States