Homemade Wine Coolers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I only gave it four stars because I'm looking for something like Seagrams wine coolers, in specific, Wild Berries. Anybody got a recipe for this? I've only found 1 decent wine cooler in Ireland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I used Merlot. Only put in a half ice-cube and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Loved this! I made 3 different types. For the first one, I used white wine and added mango to it before freezing it. The second one was red wine with frozen blueberries. With the third, I poured white wine in the ice trays and topped them with just a splash of red wine. The third ones looked so pretty! All of my guests LOVED this, and it was a nice beverage to serve at noon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Marckwordt- Lowery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Loved it! I can't drink a lot of red wine because of migraines and there was no way I was going to waste wine in my house! I had a lonely little bottle from Christmas that was just sitting there so - why not? This turned out very good in a nice chilled glass garnished with a lime. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Awesome drink! I didn't have an ice cube tray so I used a muffin tin and just filled them a little bit of the way. I also used diet ginger ale. They were super yummy and not too bad on calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
these really hit the spot. ohh for yummy. make sure you give yourself at least 24-48 hrs of freeze time. the alcohol does not freeze well. i use cheap boxed red wine and it always taste great. we like to mix ours with diet sprite. so simple so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
UPDATE: MY FIANCE AND I ENTERTAINED FRIENDS RIGHT BEFORE THE HOLIDAYS. THEY BROUGHT A BOTTLE OF WINE TO SERVE WITH DINNER. THE "LADIES" MADE WINE COOLERS (I HAPPENED TO HAVE LEFTOVER WINE ICE CUBES IN THE FREEZER - YEA!), BUT THIS TIME, I ADDED CHOPPED FRUIT (I.E. LEMONS, ORANGES AND LIMES). DELICIOUS!!! Pretty good, even for someone who is NOT a wine drinker (at all!). My fiance enjoys wine very much, but never wants to drink alone. :-) Since I made a simple red pasta sauce for dinner tonight, I thought it would be a shame to not open one of our (i.e. "his") bottles of wine to serve with it. I wasn't wowed with the combination of the Chianti I mixed with the ginger ale, but thought it was decent (and is the only way I will drink wine from now on!). My only gripe (if you can call it that) is that my wine cubes didn't freeze well. I stuck them in the freezer at 2:30 PM this afternoon and at 7:30 PM, they were only semi-solid. My fiance said that alcohol takes a LONG time to freeze, so I guess I'll need to plan ahead next time (or keep a supply handy). I can't wait to try this with fruity wines - strawberry, peach, blackberry, etc. My local winery sells a variety of these kinds of wine. Now I have a reason to stock up! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is my new favorite way to drink wine. Even my husband, the whiskey drinker, likes this. This is great to keep the ingredients on hand for those times you have the girls over for an impromptu MNO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I do something similar. I place several ice cubes in glass, add wine to within 1 1/2 inch of top.....add some ginger ale, then finish off with a little marachino cherry juice..... This is a DOUBLE WOW!!! The combination of ginger ale & cherry juice, take this to another level. If you cannot find bottled cherry juice - use a little grenadine syrup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I used a Trader Joe's (cheap!) red wine for this. The drink turned out very pretty and tasted good, but I ruined my ice cube trays making them, which was the only downside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States