Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I made some alterations: Left out the beans and the cabbage, did 32 oz vegetable stock instead of 28. Added an entire bunch of asparagus, sliced on the diagonal (minus the very bottoms and leaving the very tops in tact), 4 cloves of finely chopped garlic and cooked some cheese tortellini separately and then added in the last 10 minutes before serving. I also added fresh ground pepper and ground sea salt. Topped with fresh Parmesan and texas toast croutons. Very good recipe. It made about 16 cups of soup...will definitely be freezing some! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious and Filling! I added crushed garlic and only half the tomatoes. I did'nt have the beans, but I put ground turkey and broccoli 30 mins. into the cooking, which the cooking time was 1 hour.This recipe did'nt need any alterations and the base allows you to be creative. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was just the ticket on a rainy Portland day. It's very good as written. I used diced whole carrots rather than baby carrots, and also added 3 large cloves of garlic - this really helped the flavor. I used good quality chicken broth, more than water. Plenty of coarse black pepper as well as salt. I disagree that it makes too much. I'm sure we will go through it quickly (2 person family!) Good on its own, or along with a sandwich for a great lunch - will try adding some chicken one day, as one reviewer described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Great recipe. I substituted extra cabbage and cheese tortellini for the potatoes. Much better this way. Also for better flavor try adding zesty diced tomatoes instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Not bad. I loved all the veggies! However, I think if i made it again, I'd have to up the spices or find something else to add, as it seemed a little bland for me. and, it made A LOT! I didn't realize how much it made until i was practically done, and as i didn't have a pot big enough, had to divide it b/t two pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
healthy, simple, cheap, and delicious!! i thought it was great since you could add or take out whatever you wish. i added some corn, barley, and about a tablespoon of sugar as it was a little too tart for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We thought this was delicious, added frozen lima beans instead of northern beans, added some garlic, will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was really good. I added an extra can of vegetable broth and added a can of corn. I also left out the potatoes because I don't like potatoes in vegetable soup. A great way to get in a lot of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I was actually surprised by how much I liked this. I expected that it might be a little bland and that I wouldn need to add more seasonings, but I didn't. It was great as written. It was also easy to make, cheap and healthy - what more can you ask for in a soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States