Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I added fresh parsley and the chopped fresh leaves from several stalks of basil, thyme AND sage and it was still pretty plain. I'm using this recipe instead for the cabbage soup diet, so it's fine. ALSO 60 minutes simmering time was WAY enough. 50 minutes might even be enough so check it around that time. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes and it was delicious. I also used a 32 oz carton of vegetable broth and only 1.5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This soup is simple and AMAZING. I ended up using about 2 tsp. of salt and 3/4 basil and 3/4 oregano for seasoning since we aren't big basil fans. I also used regular carrots and canned green beans and added some corn and butter beans, too. (What's veggie soup without corn?) I might add some more beans next time, they kind of disappeared in the mix. I cooked a couple large chicken breasts in a skillet and diced them up and threw them in the pot with the drippings. Tasted great! At the end, I mixed 1/3 cup corn starch and 1/4 cup water and added it to thicken the broth a little--I just don't care for clear broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Loved it my 4 yr.old and 11/2 yr. old even liked it my husband wants this on the winter menu for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Changed out green beans for kale, potatoes for sweet potatoes and chicken broth for veggie broth and some water (lower sodium). Add Veggie Crumbles last 10min. Served with crusty bread and a salad. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The only change I made was leaving out the bean. Very good, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fillmore, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I absolutely love this soup! I've made it dozens of times :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I read most of the previously written reviews and thought they were very helpful. The base of this soup is perfect. I replaced a few of the ingredients with things I already had. I did add a bay leaf and some minced garlic which both added some flavor. I like my soup hearty so I also added some bowtie pasta. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Added 3 cloves garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Pretty awesome soup! I added corn and a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r2d2therc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a little boring, but definitely a great base recipe for vegetable soup. Next time I think I would throw in some meat or corn, and some additional seasoning. I don't think I like green beans in soup either, so I'll omit them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nesbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States